1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Replacement remote for Sony Amp Str - DB930

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by robyoung, Nov 19, 2003.

  1. robyoung

    robyoung
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    939
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +65
    Ok the remotes broken, cheapest replacement i can find is about £75 on the net. Would i be better off getting an automated remote for all my toys (VCR, Digibox, Amp, DVD player and plasma telly)

    if so, any recommendations? ease of use/set-up?

    thanks rob
     
  2. wbessada

    wbessada
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +17
    I would highly recommend a Pronto - the control codes for the DB930 (and hundreds of other devices) can be downloaded from RemoteCentral.com so you'll have minimal programming.
     
  3. shoehorn

    shoehorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +32
    Agreed... however the only problem I've found with the Pronto is my continuous 'tinkering' of my set up.
    I keep seeing ccf files that I like the look of.... and I blame it all on www.remotecentral.com!!!
     
  4. robyoung

    robyoung
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    939
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +65
    Thanks,

    so this pronto sounds great but how much is it gonna set me back?
    got any links to the pronto, info, prices, reviews etc.

    many thanks
    rob
     
  5. shoehorn

    shoehorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +32
  6. shoehorn

    shoehorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +32
  7. wbessada

    wbessada
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +17
    I think they are £150 inc VAT at Richer Sounds - but you should double check as that might be the 1MB version not the 2MB.

    If you don't want to spend that much I have a Harman Kardon TC1000 that I might want to sell - it's a great remote with all the functionality of the pronto minus the icons.

    Here's a review of it... but mine is in black not see through...

    http://www.remotecentral.com/take/index.html
     
  8. ancientgeek

    ancientgeek
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think the 930 remote is bidirectional (the 940 certainly is) it shows a list of radio stations on the remote's LCD that you can scroll through and pick one.

    I don't think Pronto or others will do this, and the 930 remote is a learning remote. I'd try to get the 930 remote myself.
     
  9. robyoung

    robyoung
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    939
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +65
    Thanks for all the info. Am looking in to the Pronto, although will now have to be after Xmas!

    But still undecided, you say the 930 has a learning remote? I never knew this as didnt have the instruction manual! :)

    so i could get it to control everything else!?

    cheers rob
     
  10. ancientgeek

    ancientgeek
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe the 930 remote can control everything else but it's fairly mickey mouse on the macro front and there's no touch screen. I haven't used mine for a couple of years, so I don't remember the details. I did have it controlling the sky box, but the absence of easy to remember key mappings meant I never actually used it for the sky box.
     

Share This Page

Loading...