Replacement PC advice

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by salthepal, Jun 12, 2009.

  1. salthepal

    salthepal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got this 6year old Dell Dimension 8300 which has served me well but it is getting very slow and although I know how to cope with its odd ways like hanging etc., my husband is very impatient and expects it to work instantly. He suggested buying a replacement. I've hear that Vista is a nightmare and have done a quick search and found that I can still buy a Dell with XP OS. I've got no idea though which is a good, reliable machine. We've always had Dells in the past and found them to be overall quite satisfactory.

    Any advice would be appreciated.

    We don't do gaming by the way!

    Thanks.

    Sally
     
  2. kempez

    kempez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +281
    Dell do some decent PC's, as well as companies like Mesh and SCAN.

    Vista's not that bad in my opinion (especially not 64bit with more than 4GB RAM), but a new Windows OS is coming at the end of this year called Windows 7 which is very good. That said, there's not much wrong with XP :)

    I'd get a decent 2.5GHz+ Intel-based PC with at least 2gb RAM, 250gb+ storage and a non-onboard graphics card.

    What is your budget?
     
  3. zhanxun

    zhanxun
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    how much memory is it using? a quick upgrade of the memory will often do wonders as well as reinstalling the OS.
     
  4. kempez

    kempez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +281
    Could be an option, Crucial have some on their site

    Those and a re-install of the OS would speed things up a bit for the time being.

    A new PC will, however, speed things up a lot, the new architecture's are far superior to netburst (P4), that the 8300 has.
     
  5. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,490
    I definitely wouldn't go for an XP if you're likely to keep the PC for another six years.
     
  6. salthepal

    salthepal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I work that out please?

    Thanks for reply
     
  7. salthepal

    salthepal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the detail. Happy to get a decent one as I'm self-employed!
     
  8. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,490
    Open up task manager after you've been using the computer for a few hours and check the commit charge (I think, It's not on vista) on the performance tab. If it's a fair bit larger than the amount of memory you've got then an upgrade would benefit you.
     
  9. salthepal

    salthepal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have double the amount that I use. Actually I've just done a CC Cleaner registry thing and it seems to be going a bit better at the moment. I'll just have to wait and see what happens.

    Thanks again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice