Replacement garage door fob

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by DrPhil, Jul 30, 2012.

  1. DrPhil

    DrPhil
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    24,506
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +10,479
    Any clues on how to get replacements for these things?

    Moved house a few months back and we have a double garage with a rolling door. There is 1 fob per door but they are not the most solid of things and we would like a replacement that we can hang on a keyring.

    I'll try to get a picture of the manufacturer (although it's an Australian make for some reason) and a pic of the fob.

    I've looked on ebay but all I can find is this kind of thing, and I've tried it to no avail.
     
  2. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,318
    Try ringing a few installers. I dare say that there's a limited number of controllers but with dozens of different brandings. Have a look on the control box to see if there's more info there.
     
  3. shahedz

    shahedz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    11,063
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,950
  4. DrPhil

    DrPhil
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    24,506
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +10,479
    That looks a lot like the one I linked to from ebay and it didn't work!
     
  5. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,318
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2012
  6. DrPhil

    DrPhil
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    24,506
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +10,479
    Well mine has only 1 button but doesn't look anything like those. I actually didn't think we had a button, there is a pull cord to change the door from manual to button operated. It was only after a while that I realised the plastic bit on the end of the cord had a button on it and it can unscrew.

    I'll get pictures when I get home that should make it more clear.
     
  7. DrPhil

    DrPhil
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    24,506
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +10,479
    Some pics...

    Outside
    [​IMG]


    Side of one of the motors
    [​IMG]


    Other side
    [​IMG]


    The pull cord with what I didn't initially realise was a button!
    [​IMG]


    Unscrewed...
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  8. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,318
    Manual here seems to suggest that new fobs have to be paired to the controller. Section 8, page 14.

    It further states that the code is rolling which is probably why the Ebay jobbie doesn't work. The firm hosting that manual has fobs for sale but they're not cheap.

    Tilt-A-Dor Garage door parts and accessories

    Remote seems to be ATA PTX4, also available from Australian Ebay sellers & there's some YouTube videos for the pairing process. If you trawl through those you may find an alternative if these are the ones you already have that are poor quality.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2012
  9. DrPhil

    DrPhil
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    24,506
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +10,479
    Good work Crocodile! :D

    I searched the internet but obviously did a **** poor job of it.

    I've sent a message to that Australian eBay company to confirm that it will work. £30 including delivery for 2 remotes is not bad.
     
  10. DrPhil

    DrPhil
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    24,506
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +10,479
    Bugger. The Australians have replied that their remote is not compatible.

    Will have to try the UK company.
     
  11. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    19,717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +9,986
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2012
  12. DrPhil

    DrPhil
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    24,506
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +10,479
    I'll try contacting them.

    I think the guys I contacted previously were selling something similar to what I bought before, a 3rd party unofficial remote.

    The one you linked to seems to be an official ATA version.

    Thanks.
     
  13. Phil57

    Phil57
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Vale of Evesham
    Ratings:
    +621
  14. DrPhil

    DrPhil
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    24,506
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +10,479
    I think that's where it fails for me. Thanks anyway!

    I've contacted the company in the link above from Crocodile, based in N Ireland.

    £48 including delivery but if it does the job then I won't complain. (much)
     

Share This Page

Loading...