Replacement for Arcam Alpha 1 CD player

Danrv

Standard Member
Hi
My Arcam Alpha One CD player has stopped reading CD's.The transport
makes a buzzing noise for several seconds once the tray is shut,even with no CD installed.
If it's a cheap fix it may be worth repairing as I'm pleased with it's sound.
Otherwise I'll be looking for a replacement.
My setup consists of:
Arcam Alpha One CD player
Rotel RA-01 amp
Sony SS-86E speakers
Atacama speaker stands
QED Qunex 1 interconnects
Cable Talk speaker cable
Target Hi Fi tower

I paid £80 used for the Arcam years ago so it's done well and I'd prefer to
buy new this time.What sort of money would I need to spend in order to
get something of similar quality?
I'm a musician and listen to most styles but not Rap & R&B music.
Any help would be appreciated,
Dan (UK)

GW43

I replaced my Arcam Alpha 7SE with a Squeezebox. Prior to that I'd compared my 7SE to the CD73, and couldn't hear a difference.

http://www.slimdevices.com/

The Squeezebox, aside from being far more convenient, gives more detail, better soundstage and is more lively than the 7SE, if that's what you like. All in my humble opinion of course!

The Alpha 7SE is a very good CD player, don't get me wrong. I was told by the shop where I auditioned the CD73 (lets call the dealer "Sixelms") that I would need to spend about a grand to significantly better the 7SE. The Alpha 7SE can be had at a popular auction site for between £100 and £140.

Danrv

Standard Member
Looks cool.Never seen anything like that before.
I take it that this is not a music storage device with a hard disk.
Does it need to be connected to a PC to work?

GW43

Looks cool.Never seen anything like that before.
I take it that this is not a music storage device with a hard disk.
Does it need to be connected to a PC to work?