Replacement cable

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by Earlstreetblue, Sep 15, 2007.

  1. Earlstreetblue

    Earlstreetblue
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    N E Lincs/Whitby
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have been having the odd problem recently with the cable that NTL plumbed in nearly 8 years ago and is looking a bit worse for wear. Can I replace it with something better? if so what and where could I get some?

    The cable I have at the mo runs from a split where the other goes to my cable modem (SB4100 surfboard) and is approx 20' in length. I don't actually need that amount as I've now moved the TV nearer to where it comes in from outside, so I would only need approx 5-6'.

    TIA
     
  2. SamRadford

    SamRadford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    N. Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +308
  3. pekay

    pekay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    Cant believe you've still got the old SB4100, fill the form in online and upgrade.
     
  4. Earlstreetblue

    Earlstreetblue
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    N E Lincs/Whitby
    Ratings:
    +4
    I probably would, if there was something wrong with it, but has worked flawlessly :D

    What advantages would I get then, if I did?



    Thanks for the link, but that's too long (10mts) I'm afraid. Would any coax cable do, or do I need a specific type.
     
  5. serial killer

    serial killer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
  6. OneTrouble

    OneTrouble

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    640
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    just be a 100m roll for 25squid..b&q..cut the length you need..get the f connectors from locals or maplins...save the rest of the roll for the future
     
  7. Earlstreetblue

    Earlstreetblue
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    N E Lincs/Whitby
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've been given a 1.5m RG-59/U 75 ohm cable, will that do?
     

Share This Page

Loading...