Reorder, delete channels

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by beardedwonder, Aug 20, 2013.

Tags:
  1. beardedwonder

    beardedwonder
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do either of the Youview boxes support this yet? My current TV and Humax 9150t allow me to move channels and delete them. I have an external hard drive connected to my TV which allows me to record 1 HD channel at a time so was looking at the Youview boxes to replace the hard drive and the DVR.

    On the TV I have moved the HD channels to 1-4 replacing the SD versions, I consider this an essential feature of TVs/DVRs. Can the Youview boxes do this? Also I have always used Humax boxes, is it worth sticking with the Humax for Youview?
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2013
  2. gwatuk

    gwatuk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    No.
    And there are a lot of YouView users complaining about it.
     
  3. beardedwonder

    beardedwonder
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's disappointing, I was hoping to pick up a cheap box from eBay.

    It seems strange that the humax won't do this as it's a feature that's in all the other DVB-T boxes they sell. Glad I didn't buy one without checking first!

    Is there anyway to keep up to date with software development for Youview so I can find out when/if this feature is added?
     
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,163
    The UI is designed and mandated by Youview, Humax make the hardware most of the software is down to Alan Sugars phoibles :D
     
  5. gwatuk

    gwatuk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes.
    Have a look at www.youviewupdate.co.uk.
    It's been established just for people like you.
    (By chance I have some involvement with it.)
    :)
     
  6. beardedwonder

    beardedwonder
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. gwatuk

    gwatuk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    You should be aware that the Humax YouView box is very definitely not based on their other products. It does not have the same features.
    Many people have assumed that it would have and have been disappointed.

    Having said that still think it does a lot of good things, and it's getting better all the time.

    There's quite a big difference at present between the Humax box and the Huawei. You should check this out, you may find the Huawei more interesting.
     

Share This Page

Loading...