1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reomte control fire.

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by lonny, Mar 6, 2003.

  1. lonny

    lonny
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hello,

    I am currently considering buying a magiglo fire that is available with remote control :

    http://www.magiglo.co.uk/Products/Standard/EliteThermobox.htm

    Has anyone any experience of programming a pronto to do this job?? I think that the remote may use RF rather than IR. Does anyone know what remote would be suitable if this was the case??

    thanks,

    Lonny.
     
  2. mike.hutch

    mike.hutch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +27
    When I read the subject of this thread, I thought you were going to say your remote control had caught fire!

    Can't help with a way around your IR to RF problem without spending loads of money on a ProntoPro, which does RF I believe, ther may be some sort of X-10 solution, try www.letsautomate.com


    :)
     
  3. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    There is a specific X-10 device for converting IR from your remote to RF. The problem will be that you won't have the IR equivelent of the RF code neccesary to operate the fire.

    I too considered this fire (the Duo, I think its called), because I wanted to have everything operated remotely on my universal, like you. I decided against it in the end, as I couldn't see a way round learning the command onto my remote AND I was put off the remote version Duo by several stockists, who claimed there were reliability issues with these type of fires.

    Anyway, I think the fire is one of the best in its class. The flame pattern is much more realistic, as is the coals, then the mainstream manufacturers.

    A tip for you:

    I wanted to control some X-10 plug in modules for lamps, etc using my conventional learning remote. Rather than buy the 'proper' X-10 device for this purpose (£60) - I found that the powermid transmitter (£15) could do the same job.

    Bought the powermid from letsautomate. Got a pack containing appliance module, lamp module and X-10 remote for £50 from B&Q. Learnt the commands from the supplied X-10 remote (it sends out IR + RF at the same time) onto my main remote - worked a treat.
     
  4. lonny

    lonny
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +6
    thanx for the suggestions guys - more kit for me to buy I see....
     
  5. patwestlake

    patwestlake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +6
    The pronto pro does Ir and RF.......

    Any use?

    Pat
     

Share This Page

Loading...