1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remote MP3s

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by themoron, Apr 9, 2004.

  1. themoron

    themoron
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Christchurch, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,

    I'm not sure if this has been discussed before - couldn't see much using the search. I know there is a thread going which is similar but not quite the same.

    I want to access my MP3s/WMAs which are stored on my computer upstairs from my cinema system downstairs. I want a device that can look at my files in a shared folder and allow me to select tracks/albums from an onscreen menu (on TV) and play ouput to my digital/coax inputs. It doesn't have to be wireless as I have a Linksys WET11 already. Can anybody recommend anything?

    Cheers

    themoron :mad:)
     
  2. tom_nieto

    tom_nieto
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think there's something called the 'slimp3' which does something very similar to what you want. I'm not sure if it outputs in analogue or digital though.
     
  3. engaged

    engaged
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    Netgear also do something - I think it's been discussed on at least one of the forums here. Found it on their site; MP101.
     
  4. themoron

    themoron
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Christchurch, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi, thanks for the info. I might go for the MP101, however it hasn't got a tv display. Are there any others out there?

    Cheers

    themoron :mad:)
     
  5. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,425
  6. ancientgeek

    ancientgeek
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. themoron

    themoron
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Christchurch, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks,

    I am now looking into the Hauppauge MediaMVP. I know it hasn't got digital out and only phonos (will that affect the quality?). It seems very reasonable at £90-100 (depending on where you go). Anyone had experience of this gizmo? Does the server machine specs affect the functionality?

    Thanks for all the help

    themoron :mad:)
     
  8. AnthonyFlwr

    AnthonyFlwr
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What about your Xbox, is that music maker thing any good, if you can get passed the embarrassment of owning a karaoke program doesn't it play MP3s over it's network connection??

    Ant
     
  9. themoron

    themoron
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Christchurch, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +2
    Does it do WMAs?

    Can it be turned on automatically via a remote?

    themoron :mad:)
     
  10. AnthonyFlwr

    AnthonyFlwr
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    >>Does it do WMAs?

    Yes, I believe it does.


    >> Can it be turned on automatically via a remote?

    If you mean the Xbox itself then No, if not then what do you mean?



    Ant
     
  11. kevinwilson

    kevinwilson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is a small device that you can buy (or make yourself, if you know a bit about electronics) which allows you to power the XBox up from the remote.

    You would have to open up your XBox to fit it (as it connects to the power supply), but if you don't mind doing this it might be a good opportunity to fit a modchip so that you can use the XBox Media Center.
     
  12. AnthonyFlwr

    AnthonyFlwr
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you do that don't you get kicked off Xbox Live??

    Ant
     
  13. kevinwilson

    kevinwilson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, you have to make sure that you turn the modchip off before you connect to Live.

    If that's a concern, though, it wouldn't be out of the question just to buy another Xbox to use exclusively as the media player. After all, an XBox and a modchip cost about the same as something like a SliMP3, plus it has the on-screen control via the TV that themoron is looking for.
     
  14. themoron

    themoron
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Christchurch, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +2
    I think I will get the Music Mixer then and get a DVD remote. I don't really want to open up the xbox, I have done some research and the remote control mod seems a little complicated for me. I have seen an easier method where you just buy a remote controlled mains switch and jam the xbox power in somehow.

    Thanks for all the help guys

    themoron :mad:)
     
  15. VirusKiller

    VirusKiller
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,807
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hogsty End
    Ratings:
    +70
    Or you can go for one of these...

    There's a current Roku(ish) thread here.

    Available direct from Roku (they will ship to UK with UK power supply) or through US Amazon.

    Joel

    [edit]On second thoughts, looks like it may not play WMA (unlike the Soundbridge I'm waiting for). I have to believe it will at some point though. Might be worth an email to Roku support.[/edit]
     
  16. pob

    pob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Ratings:
    +155
    I know that it doesn't display onto a TV, but I highly recommend a Slim Squeezebox (newer version of Slimp3). Details available here http://www.slimdevices.com

    I've had a Slimp3 for about a year and use it all the time. Installation is easy and operation is simple. You can search for music by artist, title, album name and create & save playlists.

    The Squeezebox version feature Coax and optical digital outputs and it available in wireless and standard versions. I think they are about £200

    Cheers

    Phil
     

Share This Page

Loading...