1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

remote location htpc setup?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by mpats1, Aug 23, 2005.

  1. mpats1

    mpats1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    Could anyone advise on my htpc set up which also includes help needs on audio aswell.

    In my bedroom, I plan to replace my existing CRT TV and mini hifi with a new Lcd TV. Next door to by bedroom I have my home/office which I plan to house an HTPC, running MCE 2005 PC which stores my mp3’ and will have an fm radio card). I want to be able to take the output from a graphic card on the HTPC via s video and run through the walls between to the room onto my lcd tv, I know svidoe only carries video, so how can I ensure I can hear sound from the tv aswell? I plan on using the mce remote to control the pc from the bedroom to watch films etc.

    I want to be able to listen to my mp3 and radio from my pc aswell without having to keep my tv turned on (ie just how an existing hi-fi works), with the ability to have a sleep timer function for when I go sleep.

    is their a way I can do all this, and what extra hardware would I need.
     
  2. Maff et1

    Maff et1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If the TV has an S-Video in it will also have red and white RCA audio connectors (they look the same as the yellow composite connector). Your PC will have a 3.5mm stereo phono out so you need a cable that goes from one to the other. Something like this: http://www.cableuniverse.co.uk/cata...ge=product_info&cPath=128_27&products_id=1129 I use a pair of the 5m versions with my PC / Amp. - these cables are quite sensitive to interference so you may have to play around routing them.

    With regards to the TV consider splashing out on one that has a DVI or VGA connector. It will be far better than an S-Video image - and with the appropriate screen will give you Hi Def abaility.

    If you plan to use your TV's speakers for music it will have to be turned on.
     
  3. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Yes, you could do this, you would need to run a sound cable from your pc soundcard into the bedroom and in to your tv (presuming that you want the sound to come out of the lcd tv into your bedroom). You could get a y splitter for the sound card so that you can have the pc speakers connected in the study at the same time.

    I don't think the MCE remote will work through walls, you would need something like a gyration mouse which has the range and ability to do this.

    A FAR better solution is to have an extender in the bedroom connected via an ethernet network. It would produce better picture quality, be easier to control, and you would just need to connect it to your pc in the study via ethernet, or wi-fi. A modded xbox can run as an extender, or wait the xbox 360.

    lisa
     
  4. mpats1

    mpats1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replies, I considered a modded xbox, but the noise levels I think would be too high. I guess I could run a 10m svideo and 3.5mm stereo phono to the tv. Any better ideas on how I can stream my mp3 without having to have the tv on?

    I could buy some powered speakers for the room and run the wire from the line out into the walls along with the s video, and straight into the speakers woofer. This way the Tv need’nt be on, but I guess ill have the problem of not knowing what I’m listening to or have a sleep timer function.

    Also the htpc will have twin tuners for tv, if I did have an modded xbox would i be able to view the tv signal going into the htpc? (live programming, not recorded)
     
  5. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Yes a modded xbox with media center extender does enable you to watch both live and recorded tv. I have one in my bedroom and like it lots, it is not too loud, the fans are audible if the room is totally silent - as in going to sleep, but then I switch it off.

    The only thing is you have to physically switch it off by the button on the front of the xbox - can't do it by remote... The xbox 360 may be better, but without xbmc will have limited file support - it is unlikely to support divx/xvid .vobs... until someone hacks it, so a modded xbox is probably still the best in the short term.

    Anyway - neither of these solutions are going to enable you to playback mp3's without the tv being switched on... the powered speakers would help, but you may need a specialised device like the sonos which has its own built in display (I think!)

    lisa
     
  6. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    Well You need a Roku Soundbridge...

    LINK
     
  7. mpats1

    mpats1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replies guys.

    Having done some more research I came across this site on the web http://www.pczapper.tv they are able to provide a specialist cable that takes s-vidoe and line out from the PC to a scart connection on the TV, it also comes with a remote and a software to work in conjunction with MCE. This seems just what I need, however it states that screen resolution output will be 800X600 will this be of decent quality to watch films, photos TV etc?
     

Share This Page

Loading...