1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

remote keyboard/mouse

Discussion in 'Computer Peripherals & Consumables' started by Ferry, Aug 4, 2005.

  1. Ferry

    Ferry
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Motherwell
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone recommend a remote keyboard with built in mouse/trackball for use with MCE?

    Ferry
     
  2. hutters

    hutters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    I've got a BTC 9019URF Keyboard from HERE The mouse stick is adequate for occasional surfing/use.
     
  3. Dunkwho

    Dunkwho
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2001
    Messages:
    531
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Dunstable
    Ratings:
    +24
    me too ! :)
    I ordered mine from pcnextday - £21.80 delivered.
    Theres a thread about remote keyboards either in this forum or the parent PC forum, most alternatives are much more pricey. The stick is indeed adequate, can take a while to move from one side of the screen to the other (not as fast as spinning a trackball or moving a mouse) but I find it fine. I've been back about 4-5 meters from the TV (clear view, no walls etc) without running into any problems, its a nice comfy design without the need to have 2 pieces for RF control (seperate keyboard & mouse), and does everything I need for a reasonable price.
     
  4. Xelon

    Xelon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +53
    Very happy with the MS Desktop Elite for Bluetooth, keyboard has MCE controls and trackball, Mouse is excellent, can use from 6 metres away, very good for Gaming I've found, about £75, but excellent quality.
     
  5. Lum

    Lum
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    South Wales
    Ratings:
    +5
    Does that BTC keyboard have a button to turn the PC on?
    Also, is there an infra red version available anywhere, so that I can program a few useful keys into my Mosaic remote.
    Edit: and with PS2 connectors rather than USB
     
  6. Dunkwho

    Dunkwho
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2001
    Messages:
    531
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Dunstable
    Ratings:
    +24
    no. don't think i've ever seen a remote device that'll allow power-on switching for a PC, it needs a physical switch onto the motherboard doesn't it? - plus any reciever will need power from the main unit.
     
  7. Lum

    Lum
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    South Wales
    Ratings:
    +5
    On ATX systems (Which is basically anything higher than a Pentium II, as well as a few Pentiums) it is possible to power the system on with a keypress, though it is motherboard specific.

    Some have a "Keyboard 98" option, where the keyboard specifically has a power on button, like on certain Apple Macs. Some let you define a hotkey, typically Ctrl+F1 and some let you define a password which, when typed powers on the system. I typically set the password to " " for this purpose.

    The motherboard supplies power to the PS/2 ports in order to make this work. It also supplies power to PCI cards too IIRC, which is how Wake-On-Lan can function
     
  8. OneEleven

    OneEleven
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's usually a setting in the BIOS setup that allows you to power up on a keypress - you could try that.

    I have a BTC 9116 - it's similar to the 9019 but more compact (notebook like keyboard) - I'd recommend that too
     
  9. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My personal favourite is still the old Gyration ultra as it still feels like a mouse
     
  10. Ferry

    Ferry
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Motherwell
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Yes.... I want that one....
    Keep us updated on pricing and availability
    thanks
    lisa
     
  12. stuartmc

    stuartmc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +0
  13. Lum

    Lum
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    South Wales
    Ratings:
    +5
    The BTC 9116 is also USB is it not?

    Have you ever used it in DOS 6 and if so does it work, and does the mouse work?

    No entertainment PC will be complete without the ability to run Worms 1 and Micro Machines 1 :)
     
  14. Andy Leitch

    Andy Leitch
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    None of your business
    Ratings:
    +60
  15. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can wake from USB - Some BIOS have it ans an option (you may need to change a 'motherbaord power USB' jumper too). Theres then a patch you need to install (have a look at your MB driver disk it might be on there) for USB wakeup
     
  16. Slinkoff

    Slinkoff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +24
  17. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Replace a keyboard..... how so?
     
  18. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
    Well if it actually works you can write with it letters in the air if you get what I mean I seen this on the gadget show I would prefer a keyboard though I can type faster than I can write :)
     
  19. Dunkwho

    Dunkwho
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2001
    Messages:
    531
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Dunstable
    Ratings:
    +24
    looks a nice alternative to the mce remote ... but if I'm waving it round for mouse movement (write letters in the air, please return to planet earth ! :) ) then I'm probably surfing or running some PC maintance, in either case I wouldn't want to multitap the numbers for text entry - thats fine for the few bits that need to be done in MCE but not when it comes to tapping out a url, or a drive\dir path.
     
  20. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Cool - hours of fun ;)
     
  21. Slinkoff

    Slinkoff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +24
    Indeed. I don't really use my media PC for browsing though, and when I do maintenance I remote desktop into it from another machine. I think it will be great to have an MCE specific remote that can also be used as a mouse and to control all your other AV equipment and TV as well. And I can keep my ultracompact gyration keyboard tucked under my sofa should the need for any serious typing ever arise.
     
  22. Slinkoff

    Slinkoff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +24
    Just received an email from the manufacturers of this, looks like early part of next year for release if you were interested in this.

    Dear Gentlemen,

    We thank you for your interest in Gyration "A THOMSON Brand" and Gyration's products.

    In regards of our Media Center Remote Control, we would like to make you aware that for European and international markets, the MCR product launch is scheduled for H1 2006 and should be available for OEM business also.

    We keep your data in our records and will inform you accordingly once more and precise information's available.

    Many thanks in advance for your kind comprehension.

    Respectfully yours,


    Lothar R. HANF
     

Share This Page

Loading...