1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remote control, through cupboard door?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by gmt steve, May 22, 2003.

  1. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have a VCR inside a cupboard, and would like to use the remote control with the cupboard door closed. I don't want to use a Powermid or other such product, since it's just connected to a portable in the kitchen.
    I wondered if a length of fibre optic cable about 6" long with one end positioned in front of the IR receiver and the other fed through the door joint would work.
    Does anyone have any idea or ideas?
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
    No idea if that will work. You can get IR receivers that you can fit to door. Thye look like spyholes you get in doors for seeing who is outside. Xantech make them. Used with a little IR amp and emitter you have a solution. Costs though....##

    Gordon
     
  3. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    i wouldnt hold too much hope for the fiber optic (i just did an exam on this stuff!), you are only going to be accepting an IR signal in a very small fraction of the volume into which it was initially emitted and there will also be a relatively high loss due to interface reflection..... but in theory it is good and would be ideal if you could achieve some method of getting the IR focused a bit and have some lossy coating on the fiber....... but for simplicity id prob go with gordon

    ad
     
  4. DJ GA

    DJ GA
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have hung a 50" Samsung on a wall, but I want Sky HD box, Samsung Blu Ray, and PS3 player in a cupboard approx a metre away, with door closed.

    What is the best option to control all the equipment remotely?

    Many thanks.
     
  5. Jamie

    Jamie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +709
    Many and Plenty depending on budget or needs

    Top of the list price wise would be a Philips Pronto 9400 or 9600 with the optional extender. Not much change out of a grand but wow.

    Certain Harmony remotes can use an RF extender (985?)

    Powermids and keene IR extenders are the more cost effective solution. The powermid has 2 halves linked by RF. One receives the remotes signal, the other emits the same IR signal, they can in other rooms, even on another floor.
    The keene IR extender is a wired solution, You choose a receiver (you can even get surface mount ones the same size as a standard light switch) which is connected to a magic box with little stick on emitters or a higher powered wand you use to control your kit.

    Some links to help you get started :)
    Keene Electronics
    Keene Electronics
    Logitech HARMONY 895 RADIO FREQUENCY UNIVERSAL REMOTE CONTROL review cheap prices HARMONY 895 RADIO FREQUENCY UNIVERSAL REMOTE CONTROL Logitech best buy discount online uk shop

    Theres even a homemade version you could build if you are handy with a soldering iron
    Infra Red Remote Control Extender
     
  6. DJ GA

    DJ GA
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi JimBob

    Many thanks for your help, much appreciated, I am going for the Keene IRBKITS set up, this should do the job, not sure if I will need a wand for the PS3 as this is bluetooth? Will PS3 handsets work through the wall?

    Regards

    Gary
     
  7. Dave964

    Dave964
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +140
    Yes - mine do.
     
  8. DJ GA

    DJ GA
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi Dave

    Thanks for that, look forward to receiving the Keane IRBKITS remote. I thought that would be it, but I might get an AV amp and speakers next as the Samsung sound is not that great!

    Regards

    Gary
     
  9. Jamie

    Jamie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +709
    Yep the blutooth works from another room (both remote and controller)

    Are you using the original remotes for everything or maybe a universal remote
     
  10. DJ GA

    DJ GA
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi Jamie

    I am using original remotes, if I go for a universal remote which would you recommend, there are so many to choose from?

    Thanks for your help.

    Regards

    Gary
     
  11. clockworks

    clockworks
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Country
    Ratings:
    +298
    Any Harmony will do the job - they all work the same way, just more features the more you spend.

    Get a decent amp and speakers first, though.
     
  12. DJ GA

    DJ GA
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks Clockworks

    Yes I have been looking at amps, recommendations would be greatfully received, around 400 mark? I have JBL monitor 1's which are about 12 years old, they still sound good, not sure how much difference, say Tannoys would be?

    Thanks for your help.

    Regards

    Gary
     
  13. clockworks

    clockworks
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Country
    Ratings:
    +298
    If you've got the speakers, I assume that you've already got a stereo amp? You could just connect that to the TV in the short term.

    With a budget of £400, there are a few options from Yamaha, etc. There have been several threads about this type of system over on digital spy forums in the home entertainment section.

    However, I'd look at secondhand systems. Loads of people upgrade their AV setups, so there's plenty of 5-year old amps and speaker sets at bargain prices. £200 should get you a mid-range AV amp from Denon, Marantz or Yamaha. You won't get all the trick stuff like HD audio and HDMI switching, but you will get a nice-sounding amp that retailed for £700+ when new.
     
  14. DJ GA

    DJ GA
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks for your advice, second hand is a good idea, I will keep a look out on here for one. If I can save a bit that will be great! :D

    Regards

    Gary
     
  15. suchat

    suchat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  16. dooz13

    dooz13
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys,

    Envious Technology have some simple IR extenders to let you use any of your existing remotes with closed cupboard doors. I use their IRControl4 to control my DVD and Amp shut in a cupboard at the back of the room.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 23, 2011

Share This Page

Loading...