1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remote Control of XBOX Power Button

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by IanM, Apr 8, 2003.

  1. IanM

    IanM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Does anyone know if it's possible to turn the XBOX power on/off remotely? The DVD remote does not have a power button (just one that looks like it, but acts like a "display" button).

    The reason it would be handy is that I am connectiing the XBOX to my screen using the RGB passthrough function in Sky+, which switches according to whether or not the XBOX is on.

    I've got a Kameleon, but would be interested if anyone knows any way of doing it (or if it isn't possible).

    Cheers,
    Ian.
     
  2. Tomfoolery

    Tomfoolery
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can't turn the Xbox on or off via any remote control.
     
  3. Loada

    Loada
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    585
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Guisborough, North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +48
    Not strictly true. It IS possible but you need to do a hardware mod.
    Details here:

    Xbox IR power on/off mod

    Also, there is now an XB modchip that offers this circuit as an "option".
     
  4. IanM

    IanM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks guys.

    It sounds as if a modchip is the only option. I've decided to wait a while on that front because I haven't found a mod that does all the things that I want. I guess that's another requirement to add to the list.

    Cheers,
    Ian.
     
  5. chenko

    chenko
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You dont NEED a modchip to do this at all :)
     
  6. IanM

    IanM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    chenko,

    Is it possible with a infra-red remote control or are you suggesting the use of a more manual device (such as the other half or suitably bribed offspring)?

    Cheers,
    Ian.
     
  7. chenko

    chenko
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is possible with Infrared. You need to do a real basic mod in the xbox itself. and what most people do, is add another button to there remotes. You can also add a button to the xbox pad, or even a memory card.

    There are some tutorials over at www.xboxscene.net

    Um, the site isnt acctually there anymore :/
     
  8. IanM

    IanM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks anyway. It's nice to know that it's possible. I'll probably chip my box sometime in the future, so if it's a HW mod then I'll probably look into it then.
     
  9. mike.hutch

    mike.hutch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +27
  10. EffTee

    EffTee
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5
    A possible solution to this would be to use a remote control on the power feed. I noticed that ARD Electronics were selling a 6 gang extension lead, where two of the sockets were separately switchable via infra-red.

    Could you leave the XBox on and simply switch the power on/off with one of these?

    EffTee
     
  11. Loada

    Loada
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    585
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Guisborough, North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +48
    No that won't work - the XB uses a "software" (toggle) switch. Simply plugging and unplugging the power won't turn it on and off, you must still use the power-button signal. Also, leaving the power disconnected causes the XB to lose it's built-in time settings (after an hour) and it will prompt you to reset the clock every time.

    I posted earlier on this thread with the only reliable solution, see my link.
     
  12. Ron Hill

    Ron Hill
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    EffTee. Do you have a link to this product? It sounds like exactly what i've been looking for to control powering on/off my gamecube using a universal LRC. I found a remote control 5 gang once with 3 sockets remote controllable but it was radio, not I/R which is no use with my LRC.
     
  13. EffTee

    EffTee
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5
    Ron,

    I've just had a look at the ARD Electronics site. Unfortunately the product is no longer listed. I think it was a 6 gang lead with IR control of 2 of the sockets.

    You could try dropping them an email.

    EffTee
     
  14. Ron Hill

    Ron Hill
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    EffTee: Just checked with ARD CS. It's the same one I found on Maplins. Radio controlled. :/ Better price than Maplins mind you. Only £14.99. I might get one if I can't find an I/R one.
     

Share This Page

Loading...