Remote Control Funtions in MCE2005

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by a_nicholson, Aug 24, 2005.

  1. a_nicholson

    a_nicholson
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,
    Having just got myself an nice new PV300 37" I have been playing around MCE 2005, mostly because of HiDef and the fact my DVD player is not prog scan, and I must say I'm impressed.(I had been using XBMC on my XBox) The only hurdle is accessibility, so I am thinking about getting a MS remote control.
    But would like to know a couple of things first:-
    Can the buttons be reprogrammed to other funtions?
    Does is have features like right mouse button click (quick menu) as I am thinking of using Theatertek for DVD and not Media Centre.(I will use MC for audio and TV recording though).

    Also, are there any small keyboards that anyone has used they can recommend.

    Thanks for any help.

    Andrew
     
  2. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    No...


    Try this..

    http://www.gyration.com/go24airsuite.htm
     
  3. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can only reprogram the vol up/down and TV power keys I'm afraid.
    Keyboards - the BTC9116 is small, and good VFM (£20ish) and has built in mouse/joystick. The Gyration ultra is also good but expensive(£90).
    You could also look at the ATI all in wonder remote - an RF device that can be reprogramed to be any key you want. I beleive some ppl have reprogramed this to be a MCE remote - plus it gives you mouse control and buttons
     
  4. OneEleven

    OneEleven
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can vouch for the BTC9116 - really compact and solid. Great for the money :smashin:
     
  5. fallwood

    fallwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +6
    Theatertek is compatible with the mce remote, all functions within theatertek can be accessed using the mce remote.
     
  6. Spacecat

    Spacecat

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    3,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +979
    try Harmony 680 Esp designed for MCE 2005 and all your equipment
    works great by Logitech
     
  7. TheCrow

    TheCrow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    659
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +76
    I use the BTC 9019 keyboard and Harmony 655 Remote.

    The 655 doesn't come with a USB IR receiver so I have a MCE remote as well.

    The cool thing I like about the Harmony remotes is the single button activities, you just hit "Watch A Movie" and it switches on my plasma, sets it to the correct input, switches on my AX10 and sets that to the right input, and resumes my HTPC, then the Volume, Channel Up/Down etc controls the appropriate devices. Swapping activates switches on/off the appropriate kit and sets the correct inputs and controls the right devices. It makes it really simple for someone else to use the system even if they don't know/understand how everything works together.

    The 655 has the four coloured buttons for teletext, Sky etc.
     
  8. JonLeach

    JonLeach
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    755
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Deepest Darkest Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +22
    i too can vouch for it although i have never managed to ge the \ key working tried all sorts of combinations needs to be in line of site of the ir receiver though

    also have a mce remote, Processor remote............

    Jon
     
  9. a_nicholson

    a_nicholson
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Excellent, thanks for all of the help. I'm going to start by getting a BTC9116 and then see how it goes..
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice