1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rel Storm Setup info needed.

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by Mark Ward, Jan 16, 2004.

  1. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    I just bought a Rel Storm on the forums and need some info for setting it up.

    Does anyone have a link to any info that may help me? I need to know the "Fine" and "Course" settings for using in a system with an 80hz Crossover from the amp. I want to be sure the Rel isn't filtering out material below 80 hz that I have re-directed to it by setting speakers to small, but above whatever the current Rel settings may be.

    Cheers,

    Mark.
     
  2. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    There's a good setup guide on the REL website that explains it far better than trying to do it here!....well worth a look.

    www.rel.net
     
  3. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    I had a browse on their site prior to posting, infact I used to have a Strata II a while ago and I had a chart with what the various combinations of dials set the crossovers at.

    This is the info I need, to to do with the positions on the Course & Smooth dials which determine the sub's internal frequency filter.

    I no longer have this info and couldn't locate it on the Rel site. I did ring them and the helpful lady did forward me some info, but none to do with the various dial settings and what they set the filter at.

    Essentially I want to disable the internal filters, but full info would be useful :)

    Thanks for any help,

    Mark.
     
  4. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    PM me your email address and I will forward you a copy that I have on disc
     
  5. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    Right...I see what you're after...my apologies...from my understanding of their setups,using the LFE input effectively by passes the internal filter network,and the following lines from the site seem to bear that out....

    "Please note that when using the LFE input (Position 2 of the mode switch), the Sub-Bass System’s filter controls are bypassed,"

    For what it's worth,I currently have a Q201,and use it via the LFE input only,since everything else is done via the AV processor ....hope that's a bit more helpful than my first post!
     
  6. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    Alex
    There lies the problem, I have no "Mode" switch on a Rel Storm I, infact I didn't on my Strata II either. The Dials definitely do affect the low level input however, I've been twiddling. It apperas that IanJ may well have the info I'm after, Thanks for trying.

    Ian
    Will PM you now, thanks!:)

    Mark.
     
  7. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    IanJ is by far the best man for the job,and knows a lot more about the older REL's and subs in general than I do,so you should have a good deal more luck there!...hope it all sorts out ok.
     
  8. Bassbin

    Bassbin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +56
    Ian helped me out with this info when I was selling my Storm(covered the whole ST range) and I've since found the electronic copy of the Storm MK1 Manual too. If you send me your email address I'll forward it to you.
     
  9. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    All sorted thanks to document forwarded by Ian J:)

    Cheers everyone (Esp. Ian)

    Mark.
     
  10. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    Oops! Missed this when I logged back on to post I'm sorted. Yes please, that would be most helpful too.

    Will PM you my email address now,

    Cheers,

    Mark.
     
  11. Buckster

    Buckster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +345
    I've a question to as a soon to be acquiring a Storm V1 too - if I use the "high level connection" ie Neutrik on Storm to the 3 speaker connections, Red/Black to Right speaker out on amp and Yellow to left speaker out - right I understand all of that - but then where do you the plug in your speaker cable for the normal speakers. I'm presuming you just put say the subwoofer high level termination + the appropriate speaker cable end in the same connection ?

    Doesn't say anything about it in the manual !

    Thanks,

    Mark.
     
  12. 337GUS

    337GUS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    You just wire them into the same banana plug or speaker terminal.

    Gus
     
  13. Buckster

    Buckster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +345
    Super thanks Gus - I thought that would be the case - but as the manual didn't say anthing I wasn't sure. On my Yamaha sub you see on the sub itself is the Speaker in connections - but then the Speaker out connections to connect to the Speakers - suppose just for convienience.

    Mark.
     

Share This Page

Loading...