region hack for pc

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Roohster, Aug 10, 2004.

  1. Roohster

    Roohster
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,873
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +3,911
    Can anyone tell me how I can do a "region hack" on my pc?
    I'm using Cyberlink PowerDVD as a player if that makes any difference.
    Thanks.
     
  2. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +198
  3. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    13,271
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,033
    2nd vote for AnyDVD, has always been faultless and has additional functions very handy for an HCPC
     
  4. Harry T2

    Harry T2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Like the others suggested, software is a much easier option than flashing the drive.

    I use DVD Region Free. Never used AnyDVD - but have only heard good things about it.
     
  5. Scotty

    Scotty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Home Counties
    Ratings:
    +410
    Third vote for AnyDVD
     
  6. Roohster

    Roohster
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,873
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +3,911
    Thanks guys!
     
  7. zap

    zap
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Messages:
    285
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +3
    Does AnyDVD work with Zoom Player ?

    Thanks
     
  8. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,442
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +54
    Yes, it should work with any software DVD player...
     
  9. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +198
    Yes - it works at driver level not software decoder/player level.
     
  10. zap

    zap
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Messages:
    285
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ever since I have installed it Zoom Player now hangs everytime. Tried installing the latest version of Zoom Player, but still no joy.

    zap
     
  11. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +198
    Works with my Zoomplayer, NVDVD, PowerDVD and Jovelplayer.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice