region free dvd software

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by themadhippy, Aug 18, 2002.

  1. themadhippy

    themadhippy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    dont know if this has already been posted here but found this site that maybe usefull for anyone wishing to change there pc's dvd to region free.was a bit worried after reading the warnings that if it failed i'd be left with a duff dvd,but it worked first time without any proplems
     
  2. MrCoopz

    MrCoopz
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +115
    I need help i have a MEDION pc and my DVD-Rom has no name it just says this,

    IDE DVD-ROM 16X

    how do i find the Firmware if i cant find out the name of my Drive???
     
  3. themadhippy

    themadhippy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i had the same proplem,nothing on the front of the drive and windows reporting it as an ide dvd rom,in the end i took the drive out,luckily there was a sticker on the top with the serial and model number along with a manufacter,a quick search in goggle for the manufacter confirmed i was on the right track
     
  4. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,212
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +299
    I tried to flash my drive to make it region free but failed :( luckily it still works though, I may have to try again.
     
  5. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,212
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +299
    themadhippy

    I have my patch, but could you tell me what to do with it, I could not find any instructions on how to flash my drive, does it involve putting it on a floppy and booting from that?

    Cheers

    :confused:
     
  6. Zone

    Zone
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    6,769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +2,490
  7. Spunky

    Spunky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Norwich/Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you need to find what firmware your dvd drive is using, try cdinfo its a small little prog. and gives loads of info on you drive.
    Spunky
     
  8. themadhippy

    themadhippy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Timh,i downloaded uflash and the relevent bin file, from http://www.firmware.fr.st/ unzipped them to the root on c:\ ,rebooted the machine with a windows start up disc and ran uflash from the c:\ promt and selected the relivent bin file,less than a minute later job done.not sure if this will work on other manufacters dvd roms but certainly worked for mine.
    did try useing various hardware detection utilitys but they all gave the same result, ide 16x dvd rom :confused: ,in the end it was easier to take the drive out
     
  9. Zone

    Zone
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    6,769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +2,490
    Timh
    Belarc should advise make and model, its a start! Then as I'm sure you (as everyone else does) do a search on Google for further help!

    Si
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice