Region 1 dvd doesn't play - is it my old tv?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by ray-s, Jul 14, 2005.

  1. ray-s

    ray-s
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Philips dvd recorder downstairs with an up to date tv - plays region 1 perfectly - upstairs I have the same dvd recorder but an old tv. I can't play the same dvd -is it because the old tv is not NTSC compatible do you think?
    Ray
     
  2. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,648
    Does the DVD player display an error message or does it carry on as if it's playing OK ? If the player displays a message then it's either not multi-region or it's set in the wrong region.
     
  3. Colgate7110

    Colgate7110
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +75
    Hi Ray,

    I've actually had a similar conversation to one of my work colleagues in the past couple of weeks about this.

    My friend's TV was playing back NTSC content but only in black and white - the frame rate wasn't a problem, just no colour information. If you're connecting by SCART or simple composite/phono leads though, even if it's NTSC, and the player can definitely handle non-R2 discs then you should at least hear the content playing back on your old TV.

    As John says is the player upstairs definitely multi-region? Could you try the upstairs player on your TV downstairs to verify the player accepts the R1 disc? After that, try the listening test via your TV or is there a headphone port on the player?

    Hope that helps!

    Colin
     
  4. ray-s

    ray-s
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys - it's exactly the same player - A message comes up straight away - the message says something like "disc error - player will not play disc from this region" - Looks like I'm going to have to try it downstairs - what a pain - it looks like a war zone at the back of my tv with dvd/video/frreview etc etc!
    I'll let you know - by the way, Amazon have a printout that tells you how to convert to muti region - I followed it to the letter but still doesn't play.
     
  5. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,648
    I'm sure that error must be to do with the DVD player rather than the TV.
     
  6. Colgate7110

    Colgate7110
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +75
    I'd agree - the message on the DVD player definitely points to that. What about re-applying the multi-region steps?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice