1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

regardsing the MX800?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by cricket, Aug 14, 2004.

  1. cricket

    cricket
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am thinking of picking one of these up from a friend in the USA, Can anyone who has one please tell me if it will work over here if i use am own power supply or is it all built into the unit. Thank you
     
  2. Norman

    Norman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Herne Bay
    Ratings:
    +130
    I've just got one and it's a great remote. It uses 4 x AA batteries so a USA model should be fine, although if it goes wrong you may have problems with the warranty.
    Try http://www.universalremoteseurope.com/ who are the official importers of this remote to compare prices.
     
  3. cricket

    cricket
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply Norman, I Have been offered one for $220 which is a good price about £125 so this is why i am interested in getting one from the USA, But Am i right in saying there is a base station for it or is it just a holder for it to sit in?
     
  4. Norman

    Norman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Herne Bay
    Ratings:
    +130
    My didn't come with a base station (I don't think one exists), but it was supplied with the RF receiver unit (which I need).
    I'm not sure the MX-800 is sold as a stand alone unit in Europe.
     
  5. cricket

    cricket
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. Norman

    Norman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Herne Bay
    Ratings:
    +130
  7. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    I was going to give that eBay chappie a go as I'd like the RF features that my MX700 is missing.

    I'd be interested to hear how you get on if you buy from him.

    Cheers, Lee

    BTW I think that the MX700/MX800 is a fantastic little remote, dead easy to program and use and not bad on batteries either.
     
  8. cricket

    cricket
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only thing that is putting me off buying this from him is simple, Every time I email him and ask a few questions I get no response, This is a little upsetting and you can not help but think is he reliable.
     
  9. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hmmm...that is a bit worrying...damn tempting price though = the cheapest I've found it in the UK is £300 :eek:

    I'll ask him a question too and see if he replies to that.

    Cheers, Lee
     
  10. cricket

    cricket
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you get any reply from him?
     
  11. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Actually I did :eek:

    I only got around to it the other day and he replied the next day.

    Here's what I asked him

    And here's his brief reply...in full :D

    The only problem is now that he does not accept PayPal fron international bidders...only Western Union Auction Payments.

    I think I am going to give it a miss and get one from FPS Gamer at full price.

    What do you think ?

    Cheers, Lee
     
  12. cricket

    cricket
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +0
    wonder why he will not except paypal from overseas bidders?. I willnot western union after being stung once.
     

Share This Page

Loading...