Rega planar cartridge

Fergalno1

I’ve recently came into ownership of a Rega Planar 3 produced in 1996. I’m pretty certain it’s still got on the original cartridge a Rega Elys 1, I’d like to replace the cartridge for something better and I have no experience with turntables.
What cartridges can anyone recommend me buying, budget wise around £100 or there abouts.

bogart99

Could have one of a few cartridges especially including the Bias also. I will chuck my apeth worth in and suggest Nagaoka MP110. Price does fluctuate can be anywhere from £90, which I paid, up to £130. Just need to time your purchase.

harkpabst

An obvious replacement would be the Rega Elys 2, of course, retailing around 125 £.

The Audio-Technica AT-VM95EN would b e another option, available for less then 105 £.

Fergalno1

An obvious replacement would be the Rega Elys 2, of course, retailing around 125 £.

The Audio-Technica AT-VM95EN would b e another option, available for less then 105 £.
I am now leaning towards the Audio-Technica AT-VM95SH after reading many reviews.

I have been reading that many people do not rate the Rega Elys 2 for the money that it costs, I just hope its not to much trouble fitting it, hopefully the tone arm wont need shims.

BT Bob

Distinguished Member
Rega's cartridge pricing, in the UK at least, makes them pretty uncompetitive, I think, unless purchased as a bundle with a turntable.

I'd certainly be looking at the AT VM95 range. They have the huge advantage that they're the same depth as Rega cartridges so the height of the arm isn't an issue, which I could be if you went for another make. They're pretty easy to align as well - mount it as far forward as you can in the head shell, tweak the counterweight and you should be pretty close.

You can download an alignment protractor double-check from vinyl engine (either Stephenson or Baerwald) - just take care to check the scale lines when you print them to make sure they're the right length.

harkpabst