Rega Planar 3 Belly up?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by alfablue, Jul 2, 2004.

  1. alfablue

    alfablue
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    I changed the belt on my P3 for a new one (an original Rega part), just because it was a bit old. Since the change the speed has been up the spout, and merely the drag of the stylus slows it right down. I initially suspected maybe a little "finger" oil on the belt / spindle so i cleaned everything, no joy, then I replaced the old belt, no improvement. :thumbsdow

    The belt doesn't appear to be slipping, so is my motor :censored: ?

    The fact that this coincided with the belt change is weird - I guess its that old adage - if it aint broke... :nono:

    The P3 was manufactured in 1995, and is "low mileage"

    I don't understand why the motor is acting this way rather than failing completely - or could it be another component? Any suggestions?

    I know I can upgrade the motor for £85, but I want to be sure about the cause first.

    Many thanks
     
  2. nikyzf

    nikyzf
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it possible you've got oil on the motor pulley? Give everything a good clean, then put some French chalk/talculm powder on the belt (either one). If still no good, contact Rega, or if you bought it new from a dealer, see if they have any ideas.

    Another thought- is the mains connection OK? Could you have loosened a plug at some point?
     
  3. Warpaint

    Warpaint
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    597
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +62
    It's also possible that the motor pulley has become loose and is slipping.

    Try holding the pulley when the motor is switched on (for a short time only). You should be able to tell if the motor still rotates and the pulley slips.

    I think the pulley was originally a friction fit. If it is loose then take it off completely, clean the pulley and the spindle with meths or similar and apply a small blob of araldite to the pulley hole. Refit the pulley and leave it until the araldite sets.

    Good luck.
     
  4. alfablue

    alfablue
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Guys

    Tried all the above, and I think Warpaint hit the nail on the head! The pulley just came off in my hand (as they say). Just sorting out the araldite now! Maybe the forum saved me £85! Will let you know.

    Thanks again
     
  5. alfablue

    alfablue
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Result:

    While I was having a "dry run" reassembling the pulley on the motor spindle I found it was a very firm fit (required gentle use of a vice to seat the pulley). The result was so good that I didn't need to reassemble with Araldite, and it now works a treat. It is amazing that it had eventually worked loose when it is such a tight fit - but there you are.

    Looking at the assembly / motor mounting I can see how much the deck would benefit from the upgrade, so I will get one eventually.


    Anyway - all sorted! Many thanks for your help and for replying to my original message.

    Regards

    Richard
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice