Question Rega or Pro-Ject turntable?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by P-P-S-S, Jun 15, 2015.

1. P-P-S-S

P-P-S-S

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +142
    I have decided to add a turntable to my set up for casual listening. Since both performance AND design of the equipment is important to me I have narrowed my choice down to Rega RP1 or Pro-Ject Debut Carbon. I am new to vinyl so would appreciate any advice or recommendations please.

2. Craig uk

Craig uk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +983
    You really can't go wrong with either. The performance offered by these entry level decks, is incredible. Last night a few of us were testing the RP1 against a fully loaded Michell Gyro Se with the excellent Dynavector 20x2. The Rega punched well above its £250 price point, it is more than capable of doing justice to a good pressing on vinyl. Of course it didn't have the finesse of the Michell but the difference was remarkably close considering the vast difference in cost. I can certainly recommend the Rega from experience but the Project is very well regarded also and will surely sound fantastic too.

• Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  3. coffeeaddict68

coffeeaddict68

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +23
    I've got a basic rega upgraded playing through my vintage quad 44/405 pre power amp and mission 752f speakers - my wife got me it for Christmas and I think it sounds fab - just been out and bought 3 albums in hmv and listening now - love it!!

4. P-P-S-S

P-P-S-S

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +142
    One more question I forgot to ask is: will either of them connect to my AV receiver (Anthem MRX300) without the need for a pre amp?

5. Craig uk

Craig uk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +983