Rega Elex-R

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by darthgary, Dec 6, 2018 at 11:35 AM.

1. darthgary

darthgary
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I'm planning on getting an Elex-R to go with a Rega Planar 6 with Ania MC and some Kef R3 Standmount speakers.

I was just wondering if I'd be able to hook up a TV and Xbox to the Elex-R also so it can double up as a Hi-fi system and surround sound for the TV/Xbox (will later be adding some more speakers), does anyone know if this is possible or even suggestable? I've noticed the Elex-R doesn't have an HDMI port or anything like it, I'm a bit new to it all so any advice/suggestions are extremely welcome.

2. muljao

muljao

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +557
    The rega won't do surround. To do stereo you'd probably have to add a dac to plug tv output or game output

3. muljao

muljao

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +557
    You be better to buy an av receiver that has a phono input, you'll likely take a small hit on out and out music quality, but the convenience may make it worth it to you

4. gibbsy

gibbsy
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6,140
    The Rega is a pure integrated stereo amp for two channel use only. As mentioned what you need is an AVR which has multiple HDMI inputs and built in amplifiers for driving at least five speakers and a sub-woofer.

Stereo amps can be integrated into a surround sound system to drive the stereo speakers for far better musical reproduction. For this you would still need an AVR and the stereo amp should have HT by-pass built in. Unfortunately the Elex does not have HT by-pass and for this you would need the Elicit-R. Personally I would pair the new KEF R3s with the Elicit-R.

5. darthgary

darthgary
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0