1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Refresh rates question...

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by PhilipH, Oct 26, 2004.

  1. PhilipH

    PhilipH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2000
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Ratings:
    +0
    Think I've finally decided on a Sharp LC32GA4E - it has a proper 16:9 panel, it has all the inputs I need and it has serial port control that I know does what I need it to do. (www.av-sales.co.uk have them listed for about £1,530)

    Thing is, the manual states that it handles 1366 x 768 pixels @ 60Hz - anyone know if you can refresh at a lower rate (50Hz) so that you don't get juddery pans on PAL DVDs? What's the usual workaround that people do for this?

    Phil
     
  2. jgrg

    jgrg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +33
    Sounds like a great price, but I think the DVI input is intended for computer input only, and may not work with DVD players.

    James
     
  3. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I think Phil uses a PC? This is a common problem, 50Hz is likely not possible. 75Hz would be worth a try, that will be smooth with pal. We have to do this with Fujitsu plasmas run with scalers, they won't take the same 1366/768 at 50Hz They do display, but the picture is offset about 40% to the right. 75Hz is fine with them, I'll ask a man who knows in the am. Ps that is an amazing price, well below my buy in price.
     
  4. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    I have conected a HDMI DVD player to the GD1E version via an HDMI to DVI-D cable. The EDID indicates best resolution of 1024x768 for 50Hz material, but it worked fine at 720p (1280x768) although I could not get 1080i (1920x1080i) to work. Sharp have acknowledged this to be an issue with some sources.

    I believe that the GA4E and the GD1E are fairly closely related. Certainly with the GA3E (bottom speakers) version, DVI operation is documented to be the same as the GD1E. My understanding is that the only difference between the GA4E and GA3E are the speakers are at the side.

    -Ian
     
  5. PhilipH

    PhilipH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2000
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Ratings:
    +0
    Correctamundo my metal bodied paranoid friend!

    Managed to get the serial protocols for this unit - as well as the engineer code which stops it turning off the serial port circuitry when it's powered off so that you can then power it on again via serial commands.

    A mate (SofaSpud) bought one of these recently and really rates it.

    Phil
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    My favourite LCD panel too. Only the Pansonic 42PHD7 will stop me having one. That has a wireless presentation video card, and I'm a sucker for gadgets. BTW the projection screen is great with the X10 switch!
     
  7. PhilipH

    PhilipH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2000
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup - 3E has speakers on the bottom, 4E has them on the side...

    ...cool - so it will handle 50Hz via DVI - *SUPERB*!!!!

    Phil
     
  8. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    Cartainly at 1280x768 then you can use the zoom functions. However, the jury is out for 1366x768@50.
     
  9. PhilipH

    PhilipH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2000
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately I don't have the space for a 42"...

    ...well OK - the *WIFE* says I don't have the space for a 42"!

    Actually I also want higher res than 848 x 480 too - I'm trying to write my own HTPC front end now that Meedio etc. don't *QUITE* do what I want or work as simply as I need.

    Phil
     
  10. APC

    APC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry for going OT, but I have a couple of questions about the Sharp LC-32GA4E (ie. the one with the side speakers).

    1. Is it meant to be used with *or* without the side speakers? The manual asks you to attach them, but is this just as preparation, or am I right in presuming that the set is designed to look OK (i.e. properly 'finished', with no scre holes showing etc) with them off? I don't need the speakers.

    2. This sounds daft, but what are the 'feet' like on the front of the stand? Do they have rubber cushions underneath or are they flat?

    Thanks.
     
  11. PhilipH

    PhilipH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2000
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm planning to use it without speakers too ... as far as I can tell from looking at a 30" unit the other weekend then the side speakers (and bottom speakers) can be fitted or left off as required. The unit I looked at looked fine without them.

    Phil
     
  12. APC

    APC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey, many thanks for the reply. :thumbsup:

    Now if only I knew about those damn 'feet' :rolleyes:

    Have you seen any info on typical response time of this screen. Can't find any info anywhere. :rolleyes:
     
  13. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27

    16 ms. :cool:
     
  14. tonyoevans

    tonyoevans
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hagley
    Ratings:
    +21
    Unbeatable have the Sharp LC32GA4E listed as £1,243.16 now. Very tempted
     
  15. jgrg

    jgrg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +33
    Hi Tony,

    Sure that you mean Unbeatable? They have the 26 inch version at £1,123.99, and the LC32GA4E at £1,999.99.

    James
     
  16. PhilipH

    PhilipH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2000
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheapest I've found so far was Empire Direct... £1,200 and a bit.

    Phil
     

Share This Page

Loading...