1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Refresh rates for a seleco 400 HT & HTPC advice

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Tim Cooper, Apr 30, 2001.

  1. Tim Cooper

    Tim Cooper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Laindon Essex
    Ratings:
    +96
    Hi All,
    Begining to get the bits together for my HCPC but before i put it all together can someone tell me what refresh rates i can get from this projector,i understand that the 400 can only accept a 640x480 image anyone help?
    Also before i order my bit's can anyone comment on the following list ta:
    sound blaster live (original)with sp/dif out
    (already got)
    P3 700 (already got)
    Prophet GTS2 mx 32meg or 64meg????
    fujitsu udma 100 HDD v.quiet
    Enlight desktop case
    Fans from quiet pc
    Toshiba 1502 dvd (V.Quiet)
    Having trouble finding a slot 1 mother board may go the Athlon route what do you think??
    Any help advice app'd
    Tim

    :p :p :p
     
  2. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Tim,

    Trust you are keeping well.

    The 400 is limited to 480p/575p @60Hz as it was designed for line doubling only. Although you will see significant improvement over the internal doubler.

    Alternatively use the Silicon Image iScan Pro as a significant upgrade for your 400.

    Best Regards

    Alan
    Owl Video Systems Ltd
     
  3. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,871
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,616
    Don't know off hand whether the DVD ROM drive you have is multi-region, and you didn't mention how much memory you have - which is vital - but provided you have at least 128 meg, you should be ok.
    Irrelevant for DVD playback which of the video card versions you have quoted - as far as I know.
    You should be able to get the motherboard you want from www.scan.co.uk or www.xenex.co.uk. Again, I don't think it really matters whether you go Intel or AMD for your CPU so long as it's powerful enough. 700 should be ok.
     
  4. Tim Cooper

    Tim Cooper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Laindon Essex
    Ratings:
    +96
    Hi chaps,
    Thanks for the info i was beginning to think i had a personal hygiene problem (no replies)
    Alan:I'm keeping very well thanks,
    Still can't resist tweaking :D with regards to your earlier answer what is the 570p bit i understand that 640x480 is 480p but i'm stumped with the 570p bit.
    Spectre:I'm going to use 256meg cas2 crucial pc133 memory.My main question was what graphics card to use there seems to be no real consensus on what to use except on higher resolutions you should go for a radeon but i'm stuck at 480p so it comes down to 2 cards the GE force 2 GTS or the GE force MX the MX is half the price of the GTS so which one???????
    Thanks again chaps
    Tim :p
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,803
    Tim,

    Although 600 x480 is also 480P, the 480P Alan refers to is actually the de-interlaced NTSC standard of 480i-480P. So, the 576P bit is actually the de-interlaced PAL standard of 576i - 576P.

    I'll leave the PC bits to those more knowledgeable than me.....

    Gordon
     
  6. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Tim,

    The Geforce MX and GTS 2 cards share the same DVD playback support, so if you just need it for DVD playback save your money and go for the MX. The MX however is pityful when it comes to 3D games, so if you are a games player then go for the GTS 2.

    Jeff
     
  7. Tim Cooper

    Tim Cooper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Laindon Essex
    Ratings:
    +96
    Hi Alan,
    could i get a demo of the iscan on my setup? maybe i could borrow one ;) as you know we have a major shortage of seleco dealers where i live :(
    Jeff thanks for the info could i pick your brains when i get this beast up & running ;)
    Gordon: thanks for the info but the explanation went straight over my head not to worry i'll get there one day :D
    Cheers
    Tim :p :p :p
     
  8. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Tim,

    Give me a call at the office.

    Cheers

    Alan
     
  9. Craig Crane

    Craig Crane
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Tim

    Alan is right to recommend the DVDo Iscan pro as an alternative solution. If you are hoping to use other sources for the system (LD, TV, SKY, PS2, N64 etc etc etc) the the Iscan is the way to go. Although HTPC affords better DVD playback than "average" systems, the scaling abilities of the HTPC relie on capture cards that tend to introduce a lot of noise into the equation (for example, using Dtv/Dscaler with a wintv card). The DVDO Iscan is not only wonderfully free of noise, but also offers marvelous stable pulldown on difficult source material.
     

Share This Page

Loading...