Quantcast

Reflecta or Winait Film Scanner Super 8 - Normal 8

Tonyphotoplus

Standard Member
I need some clarification on which way to go. This area is very new to me and would like your input. There are it seems three models here in the UK that will create a copy from my old family 8mm films to DVD. I was given this task by my mother due to the large bill she was given when my sister took charge of this project. I knew I should have taken it on before and we are where we are. That last bill was over £500! My theory is to do all the 8mm films by a machine at home. This area is not new to me as I was a medical photographer many years ago and edited back then 16mm films. There are a ton of films that need to be processed. I want to get all this asap before my mother dies. She would love to go through old memories of our families past on the TV screen. The two machines that seem to be available in the UK are the two I have given in the header. Reflecta Super 8 Regular 8 Scanner or the Winait 5"&3" Reel 8mm Roll Film & Super8 Roll Film Digital Film Video Scanner. The two are on Amazon.uk:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07142W...colid=J5BJHTKGL1ZA&psc=0&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B06XQNZBC5/?coliid=I2WELS5S6JQETW&colid=J5BJHTKGL1ZA&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it
There is another, Mersoco, but that seems to be given a negative review in several places. I am quite aware of the problems reviews are. So I have to weed out the ones that could be manufacturing faults, human errors etc. Have any of yo had any experiences with any of these machines? And how can I clean the films without too much damage?

Peter Parker

Distinguished Member
Hi Tony,

I'm not sure if this is the best place for this for getting the answers you want - have you tried any of the other sub forums? I hope you manage to decide which machine to get.