1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reducing size of digi photos for website - help!

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by David E, May 20, 2005.

1. David E

David E

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone,
    I'm new to digital photography and the forum.
    I've taken pictures to add to my business website (thewaterbedman.co.uk) but had problems when reducing pics to the size required, hence several pictures are much larger than necessary. You will see the problem in all pics where the product poses with a white website name label - a loss of sharpness of text on product labels and my name label.
    My camera is a Pentax Optio 330 (3.34 megapixels) and I've tried using MGI PhotoSuite SE and ACD See to reduce the pics.
    Do you think the problem is wrong camera settings, insufficient camera pixels, the photo editing programs, or the 'photgrapher'? Any advice would be much appreciated.
    David E

2. Pete Delaney

Pete Delaney

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +598
  3. Peakoverload

Peakoverload

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +175
    The problem isnt your camera but the partly the software you are using and partly the way you are using the software.

Text cab be a bit of a nightmare to render properly within a jpeg or gif but there are one or two 'tricks' you can use to get much better results.

Firstly I would advise getting a better program than Photosuite. You would actually be better off getting a web graphics editor rather than a photo editor and without a doubt the best one is Fireworks. You wont need the latest version so you should be able to pick up an older version very cheapily, i've seen copies of Fireworks 4 go for £20 and as little as £5 on Ebay in the past.