Recording SKY

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by matt1801, Oct 1, 2005.

  1. matt1801

    matt1801
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

    I have got sky and I am thinking about buying a DVD Recorder / hard drive home cinema all in one. But will I be able to record Sky channels onto DVD/ Hard Drive. If so how would you set future recording and how does all this fit in with the sky EPG? Can anyone help? :lease:
     
  2. Karma

    Karma
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +11
    Hi Matt

    I'm sure there are many more qualified people to talk you through this than I, and I think there may be other threads regarding this on the forums, but for what it's worth heres a note of my experiences as a recent DVD recorder user.

    Please note that I use Sky+ and this operates slightly differently from standard Sky.

    On a standard Sky box there is a timer function, linked to the EPG which, from rememberance would "wake up" the video recorder when I used to have one. I have a Panasonic DMRES10 (not that that should influence anything) and in the instructions it appears to show how, using a function called Ext link, that the DVD recorder will switch on and a record programmes connected to a Sky box when Sky is in timer setting which controls the DVD recorder.

    HOWEVER, Sky+ does not appear to have this timer function so I can't check it for you, sorry.

    As I said, I have only had the DVD recorder recently (2 weeks in fact) and yesterday settled down to archive some programmes from the HDD from SKY+. (Mrs Karma has been moaning for me to get rid of them as they are taking up too much space).

    Interestingly the DVD would not record them. A message appeared about the broadcaster not allowing this.

    Intigued as an experiment I set the DVD to record the channel I was watching live, and recorded the same section to the Sky HDD simultaneously. The DVD recorded the Sky live output perfectly, yet resolutely refused to record the same segment when played back later from the Sky+ HDD.

    I understand that this MAY be something to do with Macrovision and there are scart cables that can "solve" this problem.

    I now have the decision to make whether it is worth spending £40 or so on a specialist scart cable merely to archive an old BBC documentary on the history of Pebble Mill.

    However if you have Sky+, this inability to archive from Sky+ itself my have a bearing on a purchasing decision. It may also be worth asking the question if you record to the DVD hard drive, will Marcovision prevent a copy to a DVD from being made.

    K
     
  3. Scapegoat

    Scapegoat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +137
    I have a Panansonic HDD/DVD drive and can both record directly from Sky+ and also using the copy function. Only thing I have never tried is Box Office stuff (never use it) and understand that this can be stopped (or used to) by Sky.
     
  4. Karma

    Karma
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +11
    Curiouser and curiouser.

    There are only two things that are different between our recording experiences Scapegoat. I don't have a Panasonic DVD/HDD, just the basic DVD recorder. Perhaps there is something in the DVD / HDD that deals with Macrovision (if that is what is causing the problem).

    The other thing, when I tried my "experiment", was that the straight output from Sky+ recorded OK. Yet the playback of the same thing recorded to and then played back from the hard drive didn't. BUT I wasn't using the "copy" function, just the output from the box.

    Perhaps that's the difference and allows a recording to be copied. I'll try that tonight when I get home.

    I hope so, as I really would like to archive my programmes rather than just delete them, and would prove a more convenient way for archiving in future. I'll let you know.

    In fairness I wanted to give Matt some input (such as it was), but was looking for some advice myself.

    Thanks for the post

    K
     
  5. Phantom Phixer

    Phantom Phixer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you use a DVD recorder with Guide+ such as the Pioneer 530 you can use the recorders own EPG to set the recording. It will control the Sky box.
     
  6. matt1801

    matt1801
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the help. in the end i went for sky+. But I think that I may also get a DVD recorder. Scapegoat say that the Panansonic HDD/DVD can record directly from sky +, does anyone know if the Sony DAR-RD 100 (all in one home cinema DVD/hard drive recorder) will do the same. As this would be my preferred choice.
     
  7. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Any DVD recorder with scart or s-video inputs should be able to record from Sky+
     
  8. Karma

    Karma
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +11
    Ok. I confess I am pulling my hair out here. I still cannot get a Panasonic DMRES10 DVD recorder to record programmes that have been saved on the hard drive of my Sky + box although I can record to it from a "live" feed.

    Would connecting the TV out scart to the DVD input produce a different signal (assuming that it is a copy protect feature). All I get is the message that the broadcaster will not allow this feature.

    I only want to archive a Paul McCartney documentary that I have had saved on the Sky+ box for many months with nowhere to save it to until the aquisition in recent weeks of the DVD recorder.

    Or have others found this and I'm just going to have to ditch it, and remember to record to DVD ram any progamme I feel I may want to archive as "live".

    Any advice gratefully recieved.

    K
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice