Recording Sky on Panasonic DVD Recorders

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by jjjjdom, Feb 15, 2005.

  1. jjjjdom

    jjjjdom
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just bought a Panasonic DMR-E85HEBS Multiregion. Anyone know IF you can somehow program Sky to change channels when you set the DVD recorder up to record?
    Thanks
    JJ
     
  2. ben223

    ben223
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    In a word... no! You have to do it using the Personal Planner.
     
  3. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,954
    The only thing I can suggest is you use the Sky "Autoview" feature (not available on Sky+) to switch it to a particular programme/Channel at the preset time.
     
  4. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    The sky personnal planner, using autoview, works fine.
    Scart skybox vcr out to E85AV2 then use "ext link"
    The only downer is that you must use the sky vcr out as it sends the "wake up" signal. But it cannot output RGB so you record composite.
     
  5. MStarkey

    MStarkey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    Agree with happyh - I have no problems with this method of recording, in fact it couldn't be easier, no messing around with timers or videoplus numbers and if you leave the recorder in 'Ext-link' mode when not editing or dubbing etc. it will record everything in the Personal Planner. I also don't notice much difference in PQ despite not being RGB.

    Regards,
     
  6. Wackojacko32

    Wackojacko32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pinxton, Derbys
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have seen a device mentioned on here which connects to both your TV and VCR out on the Sky box so as to retain the 'ext link' function with RGB output. Try doing a search on here or google.

    Wackojacko32
     
  7. bigsby

    bigsby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    I notice a huge difference between RGB and composite on my E85. Autoview can often chop of the start of a programme too.

    Interesting point - does this happen on Sky+?
     

Share This Page

Loading...