1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Recording pre-recorded VHS onto DVD

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Miles, Oct 1, 2003.

  1. Miles

    Miles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Is it possible to record pre-recorded VHS tapes onto DVD on a standalone DVD Recorder? If there are copyright protection issues are there any technical ways around this?

    I have several stand up Comedy VHS tapes not available on DVD so I wanted to tape them to DVD so that I wouldn't have to bother with clanky VHS anymore.

    Cheers
     
  2. yatesd2404

    yatesd2404
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,



    I think this should work, note I say think as I started this morning before I left for work copying my original Star Wars trilogy tapes as want to get rid of last remnants of VHS.

    I did a quick test and it seemed to be working, but will be able to tell you more when I get home to confirm that the whole thing completed succesfully.

    Will post later when I get home.



    Dave.
     
  3. andymc

    andymc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +15
    I have been copying some VHS onto DVD+R/RW and had no problems so far using a Philips 880 recorder.

    Dont go lower than the LP mode though as picture quality falls drastically.

    Not encoutered any "Copy Protection" problems

    Andy Cuthbert
     
  4. yatesd2404

    yatesd2404
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Worked fine last night on my HS2. A little dissapointed in the picture quality but I think that is simply because I had forgotten how bad VHS was. Crap in Crap Out I guess.


    Cheers,


    Dave.
     
  5. MATTHEW

    MATTHEW
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    certain vhs videos are copyright protected and won't record on to DVD.My Star Wars trilogy being a good example.
     
  6. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    A KT Vision Scart will remove any copy protection,Macrovision from VHS and also CGMS from DVD-although some say this is on some VHS too.Any VHS that copies direct with no problem will not be protected
     
  7. yatesd2404

    yatesd2404
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My original Star Wars trilogy worked no problem!!


    Dave.
     
  8. General Panic

    General Panic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    Anyone know where one of these KT Vision Scarts can be got from?

    Panic
     
  9. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. yatesd2404

    yatesd2404
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As I said I use a normal RGB Scart and I none of my original VHS tapes have had any problems recording direct to my Panasonic HS2.
     
  11. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Then one must assume that Macrovision has been disabled along with the multiregion hack.Thats usually the case anyway.
     
  12. yatesd2404

    yatesd2404
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a standard shop bought version without any multi-region hacks, so not sure about why it works without a problem.


    Dave.
     
  13. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is unusual,and is not the norm.One could always try to copy before getting any special leads.
    The above lead will allow dvd-dvd copying
     
  14. jeff-f-100

    jeff-f-100
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can I just check this out please...(location UK)

    Trying to archive some imported US NTSC VHS tapes onto PAL format Panasonic DVD, (UK PAL VHS machine can also output PAL signal from NTSC tapes) but keep getting 'interference' and black line along bottom - am guessing it's from Macrovision or similar.

    Will a "smart" scart eg from KT Vision mentioned above, (or is there anything else) cure the problem and if so - which version do you think I should get??

    Many thanx

    jeff
     

Share This Page

Loading...