Recording old video tapes to DVD ?

rags

Prominent Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I need some advice on this so please help !

I currently own a Sony laptop which has an inbuilt DVD recorder and a Sony Digital camcorder. I need to transfer the following onto DVD -

1. Some old VHS tapes
2. A few HI8 Video camera tapes and
3. some digital video tapes (recorded on my current video camera).

TBH I dont have a clue where to start with this. What cables will I need ? Will I be able to do all of this on my laptop. Bl**dy hell I dont even know what DVD recordable discs to buy (I know there are a few formats around)!

I have been promising my wife that I am going to do this for the last three months and I am about to get my arse kicked if I dont sort it out quicktime !

I have transfered loads of old VHS tapes and 8mm tapes to DVD useing my Sony Digital Camcorder and my PC, it took me months of research but it is routine now.
It will only work if your camera has DV in, otherwise a TV card will work but the quality is not as good.
I use VideoStudio 8 as my editing and burning software.
The camera is connected to my PC useing i-linc but USB should do.
The VHS recorder is connected to the camera with an AV lead via a scart adapter which has AV red/yellow/white connections and an input/output switch.
I have a small portable TV to monitor what the VHS recorder is playing.
Useing this setup I can record directly to the editing software from the VHS recorder, or indeed the TV, and once edited burn directly onto DVD.
I use DVD+R and DVD-R media which will play on DVD players or PC.
The DV tapes recorded on your current camera are no problem, just connect to your PC or I assume the laptop can be fitted with an i-linc(IEEE 1394 card) or USB might work, copy the tape to the editing software the burn to DVD.