Recording from Sky+ to dvd

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Art van Delay, Sep 17, 2007.

  1. Art van Delay

    Art van Delay
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Renfrewshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have recorded several films from Sky+ and transfered them to dvd-RW.
    When I try to view them on my laptop nothing happens, normaly Windows media player starts.
    The contents of the disc appear to be empty, yet it plays ok on my dvd player.
    Any ideas as to why this is happening?
    Thanks
     
  2. Hal_loe

    Hal_loe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +118
    Hi

    Did you finalise the DVD on the Recorder?
     
  3. Wayne71

    Wayne71
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I believe you will need to 'finalise' the recording on your DVD recorder before they will play on your laptop.

    ....please note that once you have done this you'll not be able to record on them anymore, as this effectively makes them a normal DVD.
     
  4. Art van Delay

    Art van Delay
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Renfrewshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys, that is what I forgot to do finalise the disc.:smashin:
     
  5. MuksC

    MuksC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    885
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +133
    he's used a RW disc so he can format it again to re-use it. the advice stands for DVD Rs though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...