1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Recording from Sky+ - s-video or scart

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Cardiff Irons, Mar 2, 2005.

  1. Cardiff Irons

    Cardiff Irons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0
    There seems to be mixed views on this topic. I have Sky+ connected via component to a Denon 2105 (via JS converter) for viewing, but for recording I take Sky+ directly into a Panasonic E65 (the E65 then connects separately to the Denon amp via component). I originally had Sky+ connected to the E65 via scart, but someone suggested s-video would give a better picture. Tried it out and I'm not impressed.

    Anyone got any ideas why PQ is not so good with s-video? Do I need to change any settings on the DVDR or Sky+ to improve things?

    Thanks in advance for any input. :thumbsup:
     
  2. Eddy Boy

    Eddy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +27
    Where you running RGB scart or standard scart in the SKY + settings.
    RGB scart has a better PQ then S-Video.
     
  3. Cardiff Irons

    Cardiff Irons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Eddy, I was running RGB scart (good quality one as well).
     
  4. Cardiff Irons

    Cardiff Irons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hold on a moment, I think I understand the confusion.

    Someone mentioned to me that the AV Scart on Sky+ sends a composite signal only, not RGB, hence the recommendation to use s-video rather than scart. Can anyone confirm this?
     
  5. Wackojacko32

    Wackojacko32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pinxton, Derbys
    Ratings:
    +1
    The VCR scart does only output composite so s-video would probably be better than this. This person probably assumed you were using the RGB output from the Sky+ TO your JS converter to give better PQ.

    I have Sky+ and an E65 and have TV out scart to E65 AV2, both set to RGB for best recording quality. you can then take E65 out AV1 (RGB scart) to JS converter and use this to convert both to component as it is probably better than the internal converter on your E65. Could still take the component from E65 to amp if you wanted to.

    Might be worth a try to give best recording PQ and TV PQ possible.

    Wackojacko32
     
  6. Cardiff Irons

    Cardiff Irons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Wacko, real shame that Sky+ VCR won't output RGB. :thumbsdow Daisychaining means that I would lose the AV switching benefits of the amp.

    The main reason I separated out the Sky+ and DVDR feeds to the amp, was that when I daisychained but connected Sky+ audio direct to amp it caused lip sync. Not sure whether taking video out of AV1 of the E65 would eliminate this - I'll give it a try.
     
  7. Wackojacko32

    Wackojacko32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pinxton, Derbys
    Ratings:
    +1
    I dont get lip sync issues using RGB passthrough via Scart so may be worth a try. The difference being you are upconverting to component which may be the problem, i.e. causing the video delay.

    Wackojacko32
     
  8. Cardiff Irons

    Cardiff Irons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, good thought. Thanks for your help.
     
  9. Cardiff Irons

    Cardiff Irons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wacko, I tried daisy chaining last night (Sky+ via scart to E65, E65 via scart to JS Box) but lip sync became a real issue again. I'm wondering what's different between your set up and mine.
     
  10. Wackojacko32

    Wackojacko32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pinxton, Derbys
    Ratings:
    +1
    It must be the JS box, I use scart all the way, no component input yet. Does the amp not have audio delay on it?

    Wackojacko32
     

Share This Page

Loading...