Recording from LG Home Theater to LG DVD Recorder

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Peter99, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. Peter99

    Peter99
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello to all on the forum, first post here.

    Here's my question. I've hooked up an LG HT202 SF Home Theater to and LG DR 389 DVD Recorder. I have no problems recording (and playing back) from cable TV, however I can't record sound from discs played on the home threater. The picture's fine but there's no sound at all. The connection is:

    - cable TV to recorder antena in
    - recorder antena/cable out to TV
    - recorder SCART AV1 to TV
    - home theater SCART out to recorder SCART AV2

    The home theater system's only other output is YPbPr, however the recorder has no such input. Any ideas what the problem might be?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,016
    Welcome to the forum Peter.

    This very much depends on what you are trying to copy.

    If these are commercial discs you are trying to copy then you will either be prevented , or get a spoiler like this - no sound.

    If they are not commercial discs then we can look at the issue again.
     
  3. Peter99

    Peter99
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply. One disc I was trying to copy was a commercial release DVD, the other was a homemade CD and I got the same problem with both. I was expecting perhaps a fluttering picture because of copy-protect but didn't expect lack of sound as a result. Is the loss of sound known to be a possible copy-protect feature?

    Thanks.
     
  4. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,016
    Yes.

    Also - you cannot copy CD's using a DVDR.
     
  5. Peter99

    Peter99
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. Are there ways to copy commercial DVDs?
     
  6. Broadz

    Broadz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,423
    There are - but we're not allowed to talk about on this forum, as it in effect advocates DVD piracy.
     
  7. Peter99

    Peter99
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. I kind of expected that it's not something that can be discussed on the forum. Thanks again for the info.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice