1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Recording buffered viewing....

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by CyBeRkId2002, Oct 5, 2005.

  1. CyBeRkId2002

    CyBeRkId2002
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +124
    afternoon everone.

    i wondered if anyone could help me out with a little problem im having. when i hit record half way through a programme it does not record the beginning even if it is held in the buffer. My computer did this when i first got it, something fixed it at one point and it recorded any of the programme i had viewed but since a rebuild this feature has disappeared.

    Anyone know how to rectify this? Will be happy to provide more info if it will help.

    Michael
     
  2. jimbob19

    jimbob19
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,531
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Dunstable
    Ratings:
    +47
    I would be very suprised if your PC ever did this - MCE does not record the live buffer - only from the point you hit record , or a scheduled recording.
    Tivo does and was one of the things I really missed when changing from TIVO to MCE. IMHO it should really be included in next release of MCE as it is a "killer feature" of tivo
     
  3. CyBeRkId2002

    CyBeRkId2002
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +124
    I 100% definately had this feature working at some point, just not too sure what I did to make it happen... After looking around it seems most people cannot do this but at one point I pressed record and it recorded the buffer, and I was using it quite happily for 2 months...

    Anyone else have any suggestions? maybe a plugin or extra which would make this possible?
     
  4. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,269
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +490
    Sorry but with respect you are mistaken. MCE has never had this functionality with or without a plugin. It has been requested endlessly while you are the first person that I have ever heard of claiming to have had it working.
     
  5. TheCrow

    TheCrow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    612
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +48
    Hi CyBeRkId2002

    I am in the same situation as you, I have definately hit the record button 10-15 mins into a program and it has kept the record buffer to the begining of the show.

    But post a recent rebuild I no longer have this feature.

    I am 100% sure about this as I was aware of people asking how to do it and recall thinking I don't know why they cannot get it to work.

    So I guess that makes me the second person ever to claim to have had this working.
     
  6. markxtc123

    markxtc123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    The following is a snippet from a transcript of a Chat about Windows Media Center Edition, March 18, 2005. It is from Microsoft's own web site and the entire transcript can be read at

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone/chats/transcripts/05_0318_mce.mspx

    "Nick_MS (Expert):
    Q: Will we be able to save what was in the buffer when we hit record, will it be able to be part of the whole recording instead of just recording from the moment you hit record (sorry if this was asked already)?
    A: This is a feature request that we've known about for a while (I'd love this, too!) and it's still on the list of things to consider for a future version. No plans have been announced for this, however.

    So if you have been able to record the live buffer by hitting record part of the way into a programme then I guess Microsoft would be quite keen on knowing how you did it!

    Mark
     
  7. Sledge

    Sledge
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought this used to work as well but I'm probably just confused.

    Have you tried rewinding the buffer to the start of the program and hitting record? Simple test that may work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...