1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Recorders ?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by transwest, Jul 9, 2004.

1. transwest

transwest

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi, Sorry if this has been covered B4, but this is my first time on this forum.
    I'm considering buying a DVD Recorder. I have an excellent Tosh 220E player & 2 VCR's.
    My main viewing is terrestrial TV with a bit of FreeView, & I have a cheap Packard Bell Surround kit.
    My question is: Will I be able to record & play back Terrestrial &/or FreeView transmissions in SURROUND SOUND / 5.1 ?
    I think I’m right in saying that the terrestrial channels are only in Stereo,,, should a DVD recorder encode this into Surround / Pro / 5.1 etc,,, or should my P.Bell item do this ?
    Are some Freeview transmissions actually sent in Surround / Pro / 5.1 etc ?
    Absolutely any advice will be appreciated,,, as I don’t want to buy something that won’t do what I want it to.
    Many thanks
    Omega

2. KDH

KDH
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    No recorders (yet) record 5.1 (Philips model due later this year will)
    Freeview broadcasts in stereo and terrestrial analogue in NICAM stereo-both capable of carrying Dolby Pro logic(1 and 2) surround sound - if your cheap surround kit can process this?
    Sky I believe will(or already) broadcast some films in 5.1?

3. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,217