Recorder on the 605 not working for me.

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by Jerold, Jun 4, 2008.

  1. Jerold

    Jerold
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm trying out the video recorder on my 605 - just a straight connection from a video source (VCR, DVD...). I get the video to appear on the 605 screen, but I can't get it to record anything. Whenever I press the OK or REC buttons, I get an ERROR - Recording Stopped message.

    I've been told to shut the 605 OFF and ON again to reset itself, but it still gives me the error when I do. Is there something I should do?
     
  2. Dell

    Dell
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried pushing a pin in the reset hole at the buttom of you archos? It maybe worth a try but back up your data if possible first.:thumbsup:
     
  3. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +662
    Yes, a reset should fix that, it does happen from time to time.

    Doing a reset presents no danger to the data on a HD equipped 605 but there have been reports of lost data on the 4GB version.
     
  4. Jerold

    Jerold
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    got home and retried it. It worked right this time, luckily w/o a reset. I hope this isn't a common thing with the 605 (having things not working consistently).

    I've been an owner of the AV500 for several years and it never froze up or didn't act up.

    Then again, compared the the 500, the 605 has more components that could cause stuf to go haywire.
     
  5. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +662
    Not common, I'd say I've seen it twice so far and I've used mine every day since they were first launched.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice