1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Record old VHS tapes tp E85? HOW?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by GASJKH2, Mar 6, 2005.

  1. GASJKH2

    GASJKH2
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :lease:
    Does anyone know what settings I need to record my old VHS tapes to Panasonic E85?

    I am using AV3 as the video input to E85, and have E85 setup to accept signal from AV3 source, but just get a black screen with no sound?

    I have tried using scart leads & yellow,red & white lead sets, but am unable to get picture or sound.

    E85 works fine from SKY via AV2 & AV1.
    Obviously I have some settings incorrect I presume?
    E85 works like a dream otherwise - great machine!
    What am I doing wrong?
    Please help? :lease:
     
  2. ben223

    ben223
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try:

    VCR (AV1) to E85 (AV2). Set E85 to Video (Functions/Setup/Connection/AV2 Settings/AV2 Input).

    Probably the most convenient method is to get a 2 or 3 way scart switching box. Then you won't have to keep changing scart leads.
     
  3. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,358
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +145
    No that's not the way to connect it up.

    Keep your AV2 scart for your Sky STB as this accepts RGB in from the stb, it would be wasted on a VCR.

    You certainly don't need a scart switch box either.

    Are you using a SCART to phono lead from your VCR to E85?

    If so then make sure that the signal is coming out of the scart and not the other way round. These leads are not biderctional unless they have phono leads for IN and OUT or a manual switch to change the direction.

    Also make sure that AV3 is the correct input and not AV4.

    Try the front phono inputs (if it has them!)
     
  4. agneepath

    agneepath
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +35
    Yep... I followed Kevo's advice (from a previous thread)
    I bought a scart to Phono lead from argos for under a tenner... working fine with no problems.

    By the way Kevo... i pinched your excellent DVD Queen covers.... very impressed!!!
     
  5. Wackojacko32

    Wackojacko32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pinxton, Derbys
    Ratings:
    +1
    Are you connecting the red, white and yellow leads to the front of the VCR, if so this is usually only an input for the VCR and not an output. VCR may have composite (3 phono) output on rear, if not go with Kevo's advice and get a scart to 3 phono lead which is either switchable or is for OUTputting signals from scart. If connecting permanently use AV4 input on back of E85 (assuming its the same as the E65 I have) to hide the leads.

    Wackojacko32
     
  6. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,358
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +145
    Cheers

    Which ones?
     
  7. agneepath

    agneepath
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +35
    All of them!!!

    couldn't access Killer Queen or Sao paulo '81 though.
    Was going to put up a link to your site at Queenzone - but wasn't sure if thats what you wanted.

    They're the best Queen dvd covers I've seen on the net ... and do look very professional. Must of taken a lot of time to produce them!
     
  8. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,358
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +145
    Thanks for the compliment.

    Yes, some took a while. It was finding the right pics that was sometimes difficlt!

    I'll have a look at the two you couldn't download.
    (Killer Queen is one of my best ones too!)

    Yes you can put a link on Queenzone.

    If you have anything to trade, let me know (PM me)

    Cheers
     
  9. GASJKH2

    GASJKH2
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello All - Especially Kevo

    Have read your advice & will take a trip down to Argos next weekend.
    Will let you know how I get on, once I have had :clap: a chance.
     
  10. 7up4it

    7up4it
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +43
    Hello,

    I too seem to be having trouble transferring family videos onto my Panasonic E55 DVD recorder from a goodmans video player (Using front phono connections from video to front phono on E55) I can get sound but no picture!
    Argos are selling a scart to phono lead for £1.68 (on offer) but it only has the red & white connections, I assume this is no good for what I want?
    However If I understand you correctly you are saying that the phono inputs on my video would be used for transferring images/sound say from a camcorder but the same phono connections cannot be used to transfer data.
    Sorry for the daft questions but this is all new to me.........

    Kind regards
     
  11. Wackojacko32

    Wackojacko32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pinxton, Derbys
    Ratings:
    +1
    I dont know for certain, you'll need to check the manual, but the front AV connections dont usually output anything. You will need to connect to the VCR scart out with a correct lead. The lead you mentioned from Argos wont work as it only gives you sound, you need 3 phonos (yellow, red and white) and it needs to be for outputting or switchable.

    Wackojacko32
     
  12. 7up4it

    7up4it
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +43
    Thanks Wackojacko32, I will go to Maplins tonight & find the correct lead and give it a go!
    Thanks again for the advice.

    Kind regards
    7up4it
     
  13. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,358
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +145
    REMEMBER the signal from a SCART to PHONO is ONE directional only.

    I would go for a SCART to 6 phono, (2 x video and 4 x audio).
    That way you can't go wrong plus you can record from DVD to VCR should you ever need to.
     
  14. 7up4it

    7up4it
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +43
    Thanks Kevo,

    Well they say you learn something new everyday! I honestly didn't know that, mind you we can't all be experts.

    Thanks again

    7up4it
     
  15. norfred

    norfred
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    bromley
    Ratings:
    +9
    For what it is worth I use a switch box on my PC set up. The av1 from e50 and jvc vhs go to the two input sockets on the switch box. The o/p goes to the tuner card. this way you can archive in both directions. To gain max resolution from the e50 I am connected via svideo. A pace tuner is connected to the av2 on the VCR which passes through to the E50 so either M/C can record Freeview.
    I don't need a switch box on my tv setup as I have enough inputs and I can archive from tape to E85 via the tv.
    norfred
     
  16. 7up4it

    7up4it
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +43
    Hi Kevo,

    Bought the scart to 6 phono (as recommended) from Currys last night, it was priced at £15.99 however only cost me £1.97???? must have been priced up wrong but I wasn't going to complain!
    Tried it out straight away and I'm delighted to report it worked perfectly, so many thanks to everyone for their advice.
     
  17. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,358
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +145
    My mate got the same lead (JVC) from Curry's the other week for £5 even thoug hit was priced at £15.
     

Share This Page

Loading...