Record in standby ??

keepingup

Novice Member
Hi, Newbie here,

A proud owner of a superb 55" LG OLED that records live TV on USB but won't record scheduled programmes in standby ? I wonder if LG monitor this site and would respond. Everything else exceeds expectations but a TV that only records when it's on ??? What's the point in scheduling ? Serious failure in otherwise technically superb TV
Perhaps if enough owners complain the software might be up dated. I'm not holding my breath

chenks

i doubt LG monitor this forum.
but recording should be fine whilst in standby.

is the USB device you are using powered? because the USB ports themselves don't provide power when the TV is in standby, so any USB connected device will need to have it's own power.

keepingup

Novice Member
i doubt LG monitor this forum.
but recording should be fine whilst in standby.

is the USB device you are using powered? because the USB ports themselves don't provide power when the TV is in standby, so any USB connected device will need to have it's own power.
Thanks, interesting comment. USB is just a stick but I can fit it to hub to power it and try again.

chenks

if it's just a USB then of course it won't work as when the TV is in standby the power to the USB ports is killed - as one would expect.

chenks

might depend on the model, but the CX kills power to the USB once in standby.
it can be clearly seen if you power LED lights from the USB, they turn off once the TV is in standby.

lee1980

My LG C8 does record in standby to on a usb non-powered stick. Its actually on a usb extension cable as tv is so tight to wall I can't get my hand to add or remove!

John7

But surely the TV would have to power up the USB in standby to record a scheduled programme?

OP, what model TV do you have?

chenks

one might say that if the TV is recording then it's not technically in standby anyway, it must be awake to able to records, it just just doesn't power up the screen during those periods.