1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Recommended US based Pronto retailers

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by pringtef, Dec 6, 2003.

  1. pringtef

    pringtef
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,049
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +70
    Because of the significant price difference, I'm thinking of buying a Pronto from the States. Looking for a bit of advice.....

    What type of device would i need to buy from Maplin to be able to use the docking station / charger with the mains?

    Can anyone recommend any retailers for purchasing from?

    Am I correct in saying that I will definately be hit for import duty and vat?

    Cheers,

    Timbo
     
  2. The Robman

    The Robman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Normally I would recommend either bluedo.com or surfremotecontrol.com but in this case I would recommend that you try buying from an ebay seller. Both BlueDo and SRC are businesses, so they would have to declare your remote as a purchased item, which means you would definitely be hit for import duties.

    For this reason I think you might be better off with a more small time seller, maybe working from his basement. You should see who's selling the remote on ebay and send them a message asking if they would be prepared to list the item as a gift. You should also check to see what they would charge you to ship the remote to England.
     
  3. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,081
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +660
    I have used pcseller.com, he sells via ebay or from his website. I have bought two prontos from him and not been charged VAT/import duty on either of them. His delivery prices are quite high though.
     
  4. pizzacheaze

    pizzacheaze
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    surfremotecontrol.com dont ship to the uk, i have asked him, i am looking for a TSU7000
     
  5. pringtef

    pringtef
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,049
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +70
    Sandman,

    Thanks very much for that, I'm following up on your recommendation right now!

    Cheers,

    Timbo
     
  6. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thinking of buying the TSU7000 from pcseller.com are there any issues to be aware of when buying a US pronto besides the power supply voltage (which i believe can be sorted with a stepdown transformer from maplins?) and possible warranty issues?

    Cheers
     
  7. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +57
    Hi Guys

    I am looking into this myself, I have a priveledged position where my sister who lives in California is coming over in about 6 weeks so I plan to ask her to buy the unit and bring it over if other avenues fail. I was also wondering which retailers to use so I thank you for the info.

    Cheers

    Tony
     
  8. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    ah well, went ahead and ordered it anyway.. plenty of people seem to be using US model prontos so i should be fine.. just got to get a power convertor now.
     
  9. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    I have too. Stonking price evn with shipping.

    Why not see if someone like Letsautomate could get you a spare transformer for the ProntoPro. I would hazrd a guess that they would be the same (but not saying they are).
     
  10. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Excellent, we'll have to compare notes Messiah :)
    I was thinking that re the transformer (or maybe even a new uk docking station?), although as the European model of the TSU7000 isn't out here yet, i doubt they will have any spares for them for a while.. so i'll have to find something in the meantime..

    Anyone have any idea what sort of convertor i'd need for a charger like this, i understand there are different power outputs?
     
  11. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Arsenal

    I fell sure I'll find something. If you can hang on till mine turns up I'll find out what we need and find a supplier. As a minimum we just us a convertor but that's messy will find a neater solution. I already have a Pronto 890 with DS and a 950 also with DS so I will start by trying those power supplies.

    A new DS would likely be a bit pricey so I'll sort out a new power supply I reckon.
     
  12. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Cheers Messiah, thats good to know.. I've only seen a pronto once previously and it didn't have the docking station at the time so i wasn't sure what part of it handled the power conversion, but if it isn't the docking station itself there must be some way round it, and you sound like you've got the experience to find it!
    I ordered mine on Friday, wonder who'll get it first? :)
     
  13. dsd1036

    dsd1036
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    planet earth
    Ratings:
    +0
    @ arsenal

    hi m8 just read u ordered a tsu7000 from states.i am also doing this but havent really worked out import taxes etc,have u any ideas?

    cheers dsd1036
     
  14. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    well they are going to list it as a gift, and its not *that* big or heavy, so if i'm lucky it will slip through.. if not i'll let you know what it costs when it gets here.
     
  15. dsd1036

    dsd1036
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    planet earth
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the reply

    cheers
    dsd1036
     
  16. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Messiah,

    You received yours yet?? according to the usps site mine left kennedy airport yesterday morning, but didn't make it here before the weekend :(.

    Also, any luck figuring out the best way to charge it over here?
     
  17. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Looks like mine left on the same plane. (Bit of a sod ordered on 17th but not shipped till 21st)

    ENROUTE, January 22, 2004, 3:18 am, ZIP Code 11460
    ENROUTE, January 21, 2004, 3:46 pm, SOUTHEASTERN, PA 19399
    ACCEPTANCE, January 21, 2004, 1:07 pm, CONCORDVILLE, PA 19331


    Won't even consider the charging thing till it gets here. It'll only be a case of buying the right power pack (I may even have one here) so won't be a big issue. I reckon we should get them Tuesday or Wednesday. Will let you know when mine turns up.
     
  18. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Don't forget it may actually have touched down in Heathrow already. being USPS we will not get any tracking info beyond when it left US. It's now in the hands of the good ol' Royal Mail who will not recognise/use the USPS tracking number.

    There is no reciprocal agreement to carry over the tracking info. Who knows, they may even turn up tomorrow morning (though I doubt it)
     
  19. suzywong

    suzywong
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    So is there any difference between the US version TSU3000 and the European version RU950, other than a different mains adaptor?

    I'm going to Atlanta in three weeks time and this could be a good opportunity........
     
  20. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    No difference whatsoever other than if you want to use RF (different frequency). You'd need to buy the US RFX6000. That's it.

    I have a TSU3000 which is a sterling remote. Superb.
     
  21. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah the Royal Mail not tracking thing did occur to me actually, though i figured if it made it to Heathrow yesterday night then it probably would make it into London today, guess i was wrong..

    Oh, and i hope it doesn't arrive tomorrow as its being delivered to my office!
     
  22. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    One heck of a flight... at that rate you're probably right about Tuesday or Wednesday.. and i thought it would be here yesterday!
     
  23. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Ooh. looks like I was wrong about the tracking info then. I reckon Tuesday.
     
  24. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well its arrived, but ouch.. £76.36 in customs charges, and thats on top of the $60 shipping charge.. probably could have flown over and back for that!
    Anyway still works out under £500, and i reckon the ProntoPro NG is going to cost a lot more than that when it makes it out over here.

    Still if possible, get a friend to bring it over for you, or pick one up whilst stateside!
     
  25. ailean

    ailean
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you guys recon to the ProNG now you've had a play?

    I'm messing around with an iPAQ and pronto emulation and just about geting the hang of it but the lack of uber IR does make multi device macros fairly challenging. ;)

    I like the additional hard keys of the ProNG and maybe able to get someone to pick it up while stateside.
     
  26. Jackass

    Jackass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,963
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +549
    Just bought the TSU-7000 whilst here in the states - fantastic remote.
    :)
     
  27. steve36

    steve36
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    924
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    Jackass,

    Did you buy a stepdown transformer?
    Also did you buy 2 ?!

    Steve
     
  28. Arty

    Arty
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just bought a TSU 3000 from PCseller, it only took a week to arrive, also got a charger station. All up $300, at the time I think that ='d about £195 . The transformer for the charger is U.S obviously, this is no problem! If you look at the plug end its output is printed in the case, if I remember correctly it is 400ma @ 12v. All you need to do is call at your local hardware store/Maplins etc who sell mains chargers /adaptors, the ones with lots of plug connectors on the fly lead and look for the output of approx 400ma. The unit I use is a LLOYTRON AC-DC ADAPTOR, MODEL A102 its input :230v~50Hz 5W, output : varies in set stages from 3v to 12v it also has a polarity switch so you must check the pronto unit against the UK adaptor, it is easy as there is a very easy understand diagram on each case. BTW on my unit the polarity switch is set to the bottom position in line with the red indicator light.. All there is to do now is to identify the appropriate plug to fit the charger unit and you are complete. Mine charged up completely in 90mins. Hope this bit is of use to someone.
    Now I need help to program mine and I don't have a clue.
    All the best,
    Arty:hiya:
     
  29. Jackass

    Jackass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,963
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +549

Share This Page

Loading...