Recommended learning materials for a 6 year old on coding/computers

KyleS1

Outstanding Member
Reaction score
So, I found out from the end of year 1 school report that my daughter has been learning about "computers". This is the first I've heard of it, so I thought I'd help her along. After all, I work in the field, so should be pretty handy to help her out. Hopefully...

Can anyone recommend any age appropriate materials that I can help her with over the school holidays and beyond? As I haven't been told exactly what they were supposed to be learning, I'm not really sure where to start. I was thinking some basic coding/logic puzzles. But as she is 6, it needs to be interesting. Help please! :thumbsup:

Obvs I could google, but looking for a personal recommendation.
Thanks all!

— As an Amazon Associate, AVForums earns from qualifying purchases —
Thanks. Might still be a bit old though. In the first sentence of the description "it is written in language a 12-year-old can follow".

I was thinking more of an online app/guide.

Thanks. Might still be a bit old though. In the first sentence of the description "it is written in language a 12-year-old can follow".

I was thinking more of an online app/guide.
Ah yes, however I wouldn't put it past a 6 year old learning early. I first learnt programming when I was 7 by copying code from books and then tweaking.

COol, had a look at the barclays thing (website is terribly slow), found the MiT scratch website and and an app for ScratchJr, so will do a bit more research into these. Thanks chaps!

We've looked at Scratch a few times but I never really managed to get on with it. We have Carol Vorderman book on programming for kids which is half Python and half Scratch. It's pretty good. Just looked on Amazon and it seems the current versions are Scratch only.