Recommended BD player with SACD capability (HDMI only)

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Mr_Sukebe, Aug 20, 2012.

1. Mr_Sukebe

Mr_Sukebe

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +214
    I've been using a PS3 as a BD player for several years now, but have a "slim", non-SACD capable player.

Either way, I quite fancy trying SACD again as the rest of my system will now support SACD audio over HDMI from a BD player that's capable.
    My AV processor is a Meridian 568.2mm with HD621, so no need for any analogue capabilities in the BD player.

I know the obvious reponse will be "oppo" whatever. However, as I only need the player to give me a HDMI digital output, seems pointless blowing a shed load of unnecessary cash on an Oppo93, if say a Sony 390 can do the same.

So, thoughts? From checking the Sony 390, does look like it'll output SACD audio, and will also be able to add in niceties like iPlayer, which we most certainly do use at home.
    Can anyone make an alternative suggestion and give a genuine reason why I should spend more on a different player to the Sony?

2. Mr_Sukebe

Mr_Sukebe

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +214
    For anyone interested, bought a Pioneer BDP-140 this morning for all of £50.
    Haven't had much chance to play with it. Put it in my rack, connected it up, updated the firmware and then gave it a try with one of my three SACDs (Nick Drake). Have to say that it seems like a no brainer for the dosh. Very smooth mid-range, and the wonderful bass control that all 24 bit recordings that I've so far amassed have had.
    Thumbs up if you have a processor capable of facilitating the use of these dirt cheap BD players as SACD transports.

3. Avi

Avi
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,064