• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Recommendations for 'inexpensive' pvr

J

jdcs

Hi all, I'm a newbie to this forum and from what I've seen so far you have some well informed folk amongst you.
My VCR has just failed and I've decided it's time to come into the 21st century and buy a pvr.
I'm looking to spend no more than £120ish and want something that will be
a)reliable
b)easy to use
c)have all the Freeview playback specs (twin tuner, series record, etc)
d)quiet (when not inuse)
Thanks in advance for your help,
Any thoughts?

reforse

I'm looking to spend no more than £120ish and want something that will be
a)reliable
b)easy to use
c)have all the Freeview playback specs (twin tuner, series record, etc)
d)quiet (when not inuse)

To get all the items on the list I think will cost more than £120 especially point a).

I suggest you save your pennies for a bit longer and get either

Humax 9200T at ~£150. This will cover a),b),and c) when the update is broadcast fairly soon. It has a fan so i am not sure about d) but people here say its fairly quiet.

Topfield TF5800 at ~£200. This covers a), b), c) with an Update as above and d) as it has no fan.

The general consensus here is either of the above. The ones with the Topfield wouldn't change it for the Humax and Vice Versa which indicates that both are good machines.

kbfern

Distinguished Member
I got a new Humax 9200 last Saturday to replace my 26 month old machine that went faulty.I was so impressed with it (other than it going tits up)I had to get another.