Recommendations for a new lens for Disneyworld, Florida

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by liamis2cool, Jan 9, 2012.

1. liamis2cool

liamis2cool

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +268
    As above,

am heading out to Florida in May for my daughters first trip,

i only purchased my Canon 550d in October and came with a standard 18-55 kit lens, i picked up a 50mm 1.8 recently but just curious what people would consider taking to disneyworld, on a few websites they generally said that very rarley did they go above 60mm or so unless shooting animals in the animal kingdom.

i did look at the Canon EF 28-135mm U f/3,5-5.6 IS USM lens, but that be a wise step up to take from the 18-55 whilst im still learning.?

any other recommendations ?

Cheers

2. pmcgsmurf

pmcgsmurf

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +64
    You haven't mentioned how much you would like to spend and if your happy to swap lenses and use third party ones.

It would be easy to say, get a 17-55 & a 70-200 F4 IS but I'm guessing that your not looking to spend >£1,500 on a couple of lenses.

If I were you I'd look at the Canon 18-135mm too it's an excellent lens for the money.

Used one a lot on my 60D and in fact still have it.

It's great having the extra reach when needed without swapping lenses and it's not too bad a lens for the money.
    With that you could leave the 18-55 at home and just take the 2 with you.

3. dave_bass5

dave_bass5

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +628
    Hi.
    There will be plenty of other recommendations and you sound like you have plenty of time to make a choice.
    My recommendation if money isnt tight would be to get a Canon 15-85IS but its not cheap. I feel this would be THE lens for Disney.

Ive been to Florida twice with the family and i agree with your findings, i really didnt need over 50mm most of the time.