Recommendation for Heos and Qobuz users (with my Marantz PM7000N and BubbleUPnP)

gava

TLDR: Fantastic Android app => BubbleUPnP

Allows Qobuz streaming direct to devices without using the manufacturer's streaming software platform.

============================

Just thought I'd share something which has made me a very happy boy. No doubt many people know this already, but for those that might not.

I doubt anyone thinks Heos is fantastic or state-of-the-art as a streaming software platform. It's mostly functional and has perhaps a few features other platforms might not - support for Amazon HD streaming for example. The Amazon API makes the feature set very restricted, but at least you can do it.

So I have a Tidal subscription and a Qobuz subscription and a Spotify subscription (for the rest of the family). Heos has decent support for Tidal, and with Soundiiz I can copy playlists around.

I like Qobuz because:
  • High res streaming (with options available to buy).
  • New releases and discovery is much better than Tidal because I can set permanent filters to never show me genres that I don't want to see. Tidal new releases is just a torrent of stuff I hate.
I like Spotifiy because:
  • Good for podcasts, playlists, music discovery, track radio, artist radio, etc.
  • Not very expensive for family sub.
I tolerate Tidal because:
  • Hifi quality
  • Best hifi option supported by Heos.
  • Pretty good mobile app - better than the Qobuz one, which sometimes gets itself in a twist and requires a phone restart.

However - Heos has no Qobuz support. So until now if I wanted to take advantage of the fact that the Marantz supports high-res music up to 24bit/192Khz you had to buy the music and rip it to a device and then stream it over the network. In general I prefer to simply pay my monthly subs and have access to a big online library, as there are very few situations where I can imagine not being internet connected for my music playback.