1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

recommend touch screen remote

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Baron Von Doom, Oct 30, 2005.

  1. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +135
    im after a touch screen remote. i like the look of the pronto ru950 but its a little expensive. is there anything simular or other makes that i should look at.
    i really want to spend around £100.
    is the ru950 recommended and would it be worth saving the extra money.
    could anyone recommend a supplier.
    was considering a second hand ru940 but think the 950 looks a lot better.
     
  2. neep

    neep
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi coombes123

    for £69.99 from richersounds you could get the one for all mosaic.
    its a backlit touch screen remote.
    its not cutting edge by any means but its more than functional and can programme macros.
     
  3. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +135
    thanks for the reply. my brother had a mosiac and i didnt realy get on with it. i found it a bit tricky as i have big fingers and didnt realy like the stylus.
     
  4. neep

    neep
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah i have one aswell mate,and i just find it like a brick with a screen.
    if your budget could jump £30 - £40 though you could treat yourself to a logitech harmony 855,this is a pure class act of a remote ,colour screen,internet upgradable the lot.
    go on treat yourself,its xmas after all :cool:
     
  5. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +135
    i might try and have a look atone. it doesnt look to bad although i would prefer a larger touch screen like the ru950. might have to save some more
     
  6. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +135
    just been looking at the harmony on the website. i quite like he look of it and they list my equipment. has any one got one, have you had any problems, anymore recommendations
     
  7. Shaggybert

    Shaggybert
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +14
    does the harmony actually have a "Touch" screen?
    I thought it was just a colour screen with hard buttons along the side?
     
  8. Richyc

    Richyc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Logiteh harmony remotes are superb. I sell remotes from Marantz and philips but when we got the Harmony 885 remote in I took one home and it's still there. It is ridiculously easy to program and if you go to www.remotecentral.com you can download channel logos in colour. To sum up I would say that if you know what your doing and have loads of time to perfect your remote the pronto/marantz remotes are great but for most people the Logitech is probably the better choice.
     
  9. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +135
    does anyone know any suppliers who stock these in the south (sussex, brighton area.)?
    is there anything else i should consider. would it be worth saving the extra for a pronto
     
  10. Shaggybert

    Shaggybert
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +14
    They have them in the comet in eastbourne, but I don't know if they are likely to demo, and they are VERY expensive compared to online. (£180 compared to the cheapest which I have found which were £135 delivered).
     
  11. shahedz

    shahedz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,223
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,203
    with out a shadow of doubt the harmony 885! i got mine from dabs for £135 delivered, i have had a few remotes, the cambridge audio, then a marantz and now this, i much prefer the hard buttons as opposed to touch screen. also you have a screen with 8 buttons on the side which you can ptogramme to your liking
     
  12. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +135
    is it easy enough to programme
     
  13. LFCRules

    LFCRules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +188
    For the Harmony take a test drive on their website (logitech harmony website) You can try it out as if for real with all your equipment programmed into it.
     
  14. Baron Von Doom

    Baron Von Doom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +135
    when i click test drive it asks for all equipment details then says you may now order remote. is this all the test drive does?
     
  15. Shaggybert

    Shaggybert
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +14
    I've got to admit, from what I have read on this forum so far, I am very quickly running out of reasons to justify spending almost £400 on a Philips Pronto, rather than £135 on a Harmony.
     

Share This Page

Loading...