Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Recommend a sound card with digital COAX out?

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by wyerd, Nov 27, 2004.

  1. wyerd

    wyerd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Upstate New York. USA
    Ratings:
    +27
    Can anyone recommend a good quality sound card with digital coax out? I'm using an Abit AN7 which has Optical S/PDIF out to my amp, but I've been told that Coax is better. Unfortunately, the mobo's audio header only has 2 S/PDIF pins on it, one for out and one for in, so I'm not sure if I can use these with a coax header bracket.

    The amp can do all the digital processing i.e. Dolby Digital, DTS etc. so all I need is digital pass-through.

    Thanks,
    David.
     
  2. APC

    APC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    M-Audio Audiophile 2496.
     
  3. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Have they fixed the problems the Delta drivers had with SP2 yet do you know?
     
  4. wyerd

    wyerd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Upstate New York. USA
    Ratings:
    +27
    I'm using XP SP2, so I'd like to know if there's a problem with drivers. Where did you hear about this and what was the problem KraGorn?

    I've just looked at the M-Audio website, and the latest drivers are October 1, 2004 5.10.00.0048a.
     
  5. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,957
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,671
    Audiotrak 192 Prodigy works fine here,also has ASIO and although it's own sound quality isn't stunning,I use it for exactly what you'll be doing...digital output to a Processor.
     
  6. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I'm only going on what I've read on on TheaterTek's forum and on AVS, people saying that SP2 caused drop-outs and stuttering with the 2496 drivers.
     
  7. APC

    APC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm running the card with SP2 without a problem.

    One thing I was aware of from the past is that the card's SPDIF only plays nicely with DMA enabled, (and doesn't like PIO).
     
  8. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    This is one such thread on TheaterTek's forum where problems with drivers is discussed .. obviously the problem must be dependent on other system components if you're using SP2 without problems.
     
  9. wyerd

    wyerd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Upstate New York. USA
    Ratings:
    +27
    Thanks for your input guys.

    I've decided to order the card as I'm running Zoom Player with WinDVD and I could go back to SP1 if I had to.

    Cheers,
    David.
     
  10. Ajax

    Ajax
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have the same card and also get dropouts. I am using SP1 however. I did a fresh install of everything a fews weeks ago and all was well for about a week, then suddenly the sound dropouts started again!! None of the patches work and it does my head in.

    Ajax.
     
  11. wyerd

    wyerd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Upstate New York. USA
    Ratings:
    +27
    Is this with TT2.0?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice