Recommend a satellite receiver with PVR and EPG for non-Freesat FTA

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Dodgy_Geezer, Jun 11, 2015.

  1. Dodgy_Geezer

    Dodgy_Geezer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,679
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +298
    Not familiar with satellite boxes so can anyone recommend a receiver?

    I'm looking for a satellite box that has a PVR and an EPG for Astra 2F and Eutelsat 28A. The EPG doesn't need to be the full fat version with a 7 day guide, just now and next would do.

    The current box is an old Sky FTA box which needs replacing. All the new box has to do is pick up all the same FTA channels on Astra 2F and Eutelsat 28A (using the existing Sky dish) that are available on Sky FTA.

    A pure Freesat receiver is not an option as non standard Freesat channels have to be manually tuned in and there's no EPG for them (apparently) plus you have to switch modes between watching Freesat and non standard Freesat channels. Basically, I just want something that "works" like Sky Freesat with all Sky Freesat channels but will also let me record.

    Doesn't need a twin tuner either as the TV has built in Freeview, as long as the box has a PVR (USB will do - internal preferred) and can receive Astra 2F and Eutelsat 28A then that should work fine. HD would be a bonus if available.

    Technomate seem do a range of non Freesat HD satellite receivers with either internal or USB recording. Would these do?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,991
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,176
    A Humax Foxsat with custom firmware available from this forum eliminates the Freesat system issues and can combine non Freesat channels into the EPG. I can't remember if this includes now/next info.

    Any generic will give you now/next info but only on channels as you view them, and channels will need to be tuned in and retuned when frequencies etc change from time to time. Though channel lists are available for some receivers to work around this.

    If you choose a Linux based Enigma 2 box you can setup full 7 day EPG that will automatically populate, much like a Sky system. And there is a plugin to emulate series linking too and lots of channel lists available. The only other (non Linux) generic that offers similar EPG is the Technomate 5402 but I believe you need to sit on a specific channel and wait for it to populate from time to time.
     
  3. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,208
    Eutelsat28A (Now called Eurobird 1) will be de-commissioned by the end of the month. All content will be transferred to SES Astra satellites at 28.2E (including the new Astra 2G expected at 28.2E 15/06/2015).
     
  4. Dodgy_Geezer

    Dodgy_Geezer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,679
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +298
    Thanks for the replies, sorry if these follow on questions are obvious, I'm a total noob when it comes to satellite kit.

    If it combines the non FReesat into the EPG, there's no need for a now and next as the EPG has everything, no?

    As it needs to be as little maintenance as possible (like Sky Freesat), any idea which receivers have channel lists? The Humax Foxsat looks ok but the link to the custom firmware is down (Media & File Server Bundle for the Foxsat HDR - Release 4,0 - PART 1 | AVForums so no idea how difficult it is to install.

    Can you suggest a specific Enigma 2 box please with a PVR as this sounds like less hassle than the Foxsat? And what does emulating "series linking" do?

    Regarding the Technomate, what do you mean by sitting on a specific channel and waiting for it to populate? Is this the signal or the EPG? (or both). I think I'd be more comfortable with the Technomate as it seems to be more widely available and doesn't seem to need installing any custom firmware or plugins.

    Once it's been decommisioned, will the box need to be manually returned or does it prompt you and auto scan for the new frequencies? (like Sky Freesat which shows a message that returning is required). I'd much rather pay more for something that needs less maintenance and just works rather than something that will need custom firmwares and plugins.

    Thanks again in advance.
     
  5. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,208
    A freesat box will update all by itself. A generic fta box you normally have to do it yourself. custom firmware is easy to install it simply requires a usb stick. Thereafter it's all set up by using a web browser on pretty well anything that has one.

    Try the link again

    https://www.avforums.com/threads/me...-for-the-foxsat-hdr-release-4-part-5.1829374/
     
  6. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,789
    I don't get why you don't go for a FS PVR.
    There are very few non-FS channels of any interest!
     
  7. Dodgy_Geezer

    Dodgy_Geezer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,679
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +298
    So it doesn't matter which FTA box I get, it will need a manual setup anytime the frequencies change. As long as there is a prompt for an auto tuning, much like you get with Freeview and Sky, that's fine but if it needs detailed info about polarity, frequencies and transponders and what not's, that'll be a hard sell.

    I've already checked the FS channel list and all the channels of interest are foreign language and hence non standard (these appear in the 700 and 800 range on a Sky box) which is why a Freesat box won't work. And the customers are not very tech savvy either so something that just "works" is required.
     
  8. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,208
    You won't get any sort of prompt. The first you will know (unless you watch a thread on changes) is the channels will stop working. Normally if you do a full channel scan you get all the channels repeated. The actual broadcasts don't carry a logical channel number (these come from the Sky/Freesat epg), so you have to re-arrange them yourself. Some of the more sophisticated ones allow you to edit or download the channel database.

    TBH I would get a freesat boc and add a cheap fta box for the few channels you want to view that aren't on the freesat epg. If you can get one a Foxsat-hdr with the CF would be the best compromise.

    Used Sky boxes are very cheap so you could buy a used one for the channels you want and add a freesat pvr. How many cables have you got to the lnb ? If two one could feed the Skybox and the second a Humax HB1000s (freetime single tuner box that can record to a usb hard disk).
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2015
  9. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,991
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,176
    From what you've said... replace the Sky box with a newer one. :D

    Nothing else you provide will be so plug and play and just work for the channels your customer wants.
     
  10. Dodgy_Geezer

    Dodgy_Geezer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,679
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +298
    If I buy a freesat pvr, how would this connect to an older Sky box to record from Sky? The older boxes only have scart output and the clients currently use a VCR to record from that.

    I'd happily replace it with another Sky box but to record you need to pay a subscription which is the problem since both the Sky box and the VCR are conking out.
     
  11. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,208
    Like all proper pvrs a Freesat PVR can only record from it's built in tuners. A Foxsat-HDR running the CF can record non-freesat using manually set timers (A PC/Tablet is required to use the CF). To record using a generic free to air box you would need a pvr or pvr ready box. To record to another device only a vcr or DVD recorder will work.
     
  12. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,600
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,335
    There is really nothing on the market that will do everything you want free - the only solution that meets (and exceeds) all the requirements is a Sky box with subscription. Latest freesat boxes cannot record non freesat channels, generic FTA boxes will need occasional updating to channel ists.
     
  13. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,991
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,176
    Replace the Sky box and then replace the VCR with a DVD recorder with built in HD. You'll have modernised their setup and it will fundamentally work in exactly the same way as now...

    How on earth did you get these customers? :D
     
  14. Dodgy_Geezer

    Dodgy_Geezer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,679
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +298
    I think that actually might be the best solution. Customers are all elderly, some are still using CRT TV's and cassette recorders! If the output from the Sky box is SD then is there any point getting a HD recorder or are they all HD nowadays? Also, is it possible to actually buy a standalone Sky HD box as I've only ever seen the Sky+ ones?

    Will look into a DVD recorder with built in HD vs. a Humax Fox Sat using custom firmware. Thanks everyone for the replies, I'll update here once it gets sorted.
     
  15. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,208
    I would forget the Foxsat given what we now know about the users (A degree of expertise using a PC is required). HD will give superior quality recordings especially if the DVDR has RGB recording capability, so yes HD is worthwhile.

    By the way to avoid confusion - HD is High Definition, HDD is Hard Disk Drive. :)

    You want a HDD equipped DVD Recorder, and these days it's likely to be Freeview-HD equipped unless you can find an older secondhand DVB-T SD only model (Freeview-HD requires DVB-T2 capability) .

    DVB - Digital Video Broadcasting,

    DVB-T Digital Video Broadcasting from a terrestrial transmitter. DVB-T2 a more advanced modulation system used in the UK for HD Freeview TV.

    DVB-S Digital Video Broadcasting from a satellite, formerly used for HD and SD, DVB-S2 the more advanced modulation system now like Freeview used for HD.

    DVB-C Digital Video Broadcasting from a cable source.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2015
  16. Dodgy_Geezer

    Dodgy_Geezer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,679
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +298
    I'm actually ok with any PC work so flashing firmwares or executing any Linux command line syntax is fine by me as I do the same with Android when messing about with mobiles. If this is just a one off activity, it won't be a problem, it's only if the box needs constant maintenance and flashing of firmware or configuration since it means I'd have to be available in case of channels being lost.

    I've no idea how often channels change or need manual returning on a FTA UK satellite box but based on my experience with Dream boxes abroad (not in the UK though), it tends to be about every quarter and then only for certain channels. I can probably live with that as there's a core of about 10 channels which the old folk watch whilst the rest are fine with Freeview.

    It sounds like once the custom firmware is flashed, the rest can be done via a Web browser connected to the box which means I only need to visit with a laptop and then push any new updates through the browser. As long as it has the EPG and can record, this minimal amount of maintenance shouldn't be a problem I reckon.
     
  17. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,208
    Recent changes to just the channels on the Freesat epg.

    10-Feb-15 510 CLUBLAND TV 11584 22000H Changed To 12544 22000 H , 516 heart tv 11584 22000H Changed To 12544 22000 H , 517 CAPITAL TV 11584 22000H Changed To 12544 22000 H , 663 Zing 12544 22000H Changed To 11661 27500 H , 719 Capital FM 11584 22000H Changed To 12544 22000 H , 720 Capital XTRA 11584 22000H Changed To 12544 22000 H , 721 Classic FM 11584 22000H Changed To 12544 22000 H , 722 Gold 11584 22000H Changed To 12544 22000 H , 723 XFM 11584 22000H Changed To 12544 22000 H , 730 PlanetRock 11584 22000H Changed To 12544 22000 H , 732 Smooth RadioUK 11584 22000H Changed To 12544 22000 H , 805 Gems TV 11584 22000H Changed To 12544 22000 H , 806 TV Shop 11584 22000H Changed To 12544 22000 H , 817 Rocks and Co1 11584 22000H Changed To 12544 22000 H , 821 HIGH STREET TV 11584 22000H Changed To 12544 22000 H
    26-Feb-15 777 Insight Radio removed
    5-Mar-15 650 Psychic Today removed
    11-Mar-15 Channels added 159 PICK + 1 12207 V and Challenge + 1 12304 H
    24-Mar-15 Channels deleted 520 Heat (11222 H), 521 Smashhits (12480 V) and 524 Kerrang (12480 V)
    30-Mar-15 809 BEACHBODY 10758 V deleted
    1-Apr-15 815 JEWELLERY CH moved from 11390 V to 11222 H, 809 TJC added 11390 V
    7-Apr-15 Transponder Changes - 137 CBS Action 11222 H to 11389 H, 139 Horror ch+1 11222 H to 11389 H, 157 BONANZABONANZA 12515 H to 11389 H, 523 Magic 11222 H to 11389 H and 807 JewelleryMaker 11222 H to 11389 H
    15-Apr-15 141 Spike added 10964 H
    16-Apr-15 400 IRISH TV, 401 Information TV and 402 Showcase moved from 11344 H to 11222 H
    27-Apr-15 135 CBS Reality, 149 Food Network and 151 Food Network+1 moved from 11344 H to 11426 V, 875 Playboy TV Chat deleted (11390 V)
    29-Apr-15 510 Clubland TV (12544 H) and 512 NOW Music (11222 H) deleted
    1-May-15 LCN changes Viva 146 to 511, Challenge+1 160 to 146, Chartshow Dance 503 to 502, B4U Music 504 to 503, Starz TV 505 to 504, Vintage TV 515 to 505, heart tv 516 to 506, CAPITAL TV 517 to 507, Kiss 518 to 508, The Box 519 to 509 and Magic 523 to 510
    27-May-15 Transponder changes 156 more>movies+1 12633 H to 12610 V 800 QVC 12031 H to 11953 H 814 QVC Extra 12031 H to 11953 H 818 QVC Style 12031 H to 11953 H and 820 Thane 11261 H to 11390 V
    1-Jun-15 815 name change JEWELLERY CHANNEL to TJC Choice
    10-Jun-15 157 BONANZABONANZA name change to ShowBiz TV

    Mind you things should calm down once EB1 bites the dust.
     
  18. Dodgy_Geezer

    Dodgy_Geezer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,679
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +298
    Sound advice, I might just do that instead. Of the critical channels, only 3 are on EB1, the rest are all on Astra 2F.
     

Share This Page

Loading...