Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Recommend a hard drive

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Brogan, Jul 12, 2004.

  1. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    I've run out of space on my drives so need to get a couple of new ones.
    Can anyone recommend a decent make/model that has the latest UDMA support, etc?
    Probably looking for about 30GB plus but doesn't have to be too big as I already have 2 x 80GB and I can just move some data over to the new ones.
     
  2. Yandros

    Yandros
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +528
    Seagate Barracuda 7200, 8Mb cache, 40Gb for about £40.

    Played with one last week, and even got it working in an old 440BX mobo. The Seagate disk wizard utility is very nice too.
     
  3. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,601
    or, you can get the 200gb version of the same drive for £95...

    very good drives for the money, quiet and reliable, and less than 50p per gig...
     
  4. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    Thanks guys.
    My current drives are Barracudas so I'm happy to stick with them.
    I just wasn't sure if they were good compared to other makes.
     
  5. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    40,233
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +6,659
    I had a Seagate go belly up and had to have 3 replacements. I got a Western Digital 7200rpm 8mg cache and have had it for about 2-3 years without any problem.
     
  6. james.miller

    james.miller
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
  7. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd stick with the Seagates. My experience with WD SEs (PATA) hasn't been good :( .

    3/4 have died completely, 7/8 became extremely noisy & I haven't even oped/used some of the RMA'd replacements rec'd months ago.

    Very happy with my Raptors though :smashin:
     
  8. csayers

    csayers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll have um :) :laugh:
     
  9. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
  10. csayers

    csayers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Exactly right. ATA is the standard good old ribbon cable. SATA is a new small cable and your mobo will need to support it. The S stands for Serial
     
  11. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    Thanks for that.
    Guess I'll just get the standard ATA then as my mobo is well out of date.
    I always thought serial was slower than parallel... :confused:
     
  12. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
  13. bond007

    bond007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    I think the ST3200822A has 8MB cache where as the ST3200021A only has 2MB. this is based upon the ST3160821A only having 2MB cache and should be the same just with an extra head to read the other side of the platter. But from seagates spec sheets the ST3200021A doesnt exist, but is still listed as a model.
     
  14. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    Thanks for that.
    Looks like the 822A is the later/better of the 2 models so that would be the one to go for.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice