Recommend a good quality headphone amp on a students budget ?

Clydesdale

Novice Member
Lo all

I've been looking about for a good quality headphone amp on a students budget. I've read about DIY class A headphone amps and how they create a more soothing and natural feel, but I'm a complete novice when it comes to sound. This being said I'm pretty good and have a lot of experience with a soldering iron and would be keen on making something myself. Sort of having the additional satisfaction of listening to music through something I had a hand in creating.

I've got a reasonably high spec PC with an Audigy 2 ZS sound card and I use the PC for everything from DVDs to listening to CDs. As I live in close proximity to others headphones are a must, so thought it was time to invest in a good quality headphone amp.

I'm currently using my old Sony HiFi as an amp for my Koss and Sony headphones as I've had bad experiences driving headphones directly from soundcards in the past ;).

TBH I dont care what the thing looks like, as long as it does the job.

I'm looking to buy it in the next month or so, any ideas / rough guides as to what would be considered the best bang for buck ?

Thanks in advance :)

-M

GMC79

Distinguished Member
I know u never really metioned budget or if it's a HiFI one ur after but i reckon this portable BK headphone amp is just what ur after. it really does have tremendous sound quality. Really did suprise me.
For the money its awesome and possibly cant be beaten tho dont know of any other portables so dont quote me.
I Use with Iriver/PC and my Pure Evoke 1 xt DAB with Grado SR60's and Sennheiser HD 280 Pro's. Really very good indeed.:smashin:

Here it is with My IRiver IHp-120/Grado SR60's and Chord Ichord cable as better cable (two are supplied tho) did give better sound.

Oh and it's 9V batt has already lasted 8hrs+.

Heres link to site, Highly recomended. Remember i bought a £45 chord minijack cable for it!
It's That good!!