1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reciever is getting way to hot!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by DevonB, Jul 14, 2005.

1. DevonB

DevonB

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello to everyone, :hiya:

I'm a noob here, and I have to say, I love this site, I've been looking for a good Home Theater/AV/Audiophile forum for a while, finally I've found one.

My question is; I have a panasonic reciever (can't remember model off the top of my head at the moment, and I'm a little to lazy to look right now ;) but, I have 5.1 surround sound connected to it, Sony Fronts, Rears, and Center, and a Brandy new Polk PSW10 Sub. I've only had the sub for a day, and I've noticed a great increase in temperature of my reciever. Right now, I have my Receiver, DVD player, and XBOX in a sort of confined TV Stand. In order to have all these components in the cabnet, I can only allow for 2"-3" of space from the top of the receiver to the first shelf. I know that this is probably insufficient, but its all that is really feasible at the moment.

I have searched the forum already, and found that a lot of people have cooling issues, and overheating problems, which is what I'm worried about right now. I'm a highschool student on a tight budget, so I can't really afford to loose a peice of my equipment due to overheating. I saw that a few of you used computer fans to help circulate air over/in/out of the reciever.

At the moment, I have a "muffin fan" which is roughly 120mm in size, but it is extremely LOUD! so what I was hoping to do is somehow connect two 80mm PC fans ( one intake, and one exhaust) to some sort of wall adapter, maybe the type used on telephones or something of the sort? I have a few of these adapters lying around the house.

Maybe someone on here can elaborate and help me out with what I'm trying to do?